"some music was meant to stay underground..."

The Living Fields

Formed: 2002
From: unknown
Last Known Status: Active

Latest The Living Fields News

Below is our complete The Living Fields news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Note: We began associating news directly with bands in late 2003. Therefore, earlier band news may not be listed on this page.

The Living Fields Streaming Entire Album Online

Hellbound.ca is currently hosting a full stream of The Living Fields' sophomore album, "Running Out Of Daylight," which can be heard here or in the player below.
A statement from the band's publicist reads as follows:

"Enriching their symphonic, epic metal through the use of piano, violin, viola, cello, and acoustic guitar and more, The Living Fields take their distinctive style to great new heights on Running Out Of Daylight, the album released in late July via Candlelight Records. While the members of the band are scattered across multiple continents, having never played a live show or even recorded a full release in the same session, their talent and creativity are unstoppable when combined. The new album has received acclaim form media outlets worldwide helping elevate this underground act's name higher into the ranks of metal's contemporary elite."

The Living Fields - Running Out of Daylight by Hellbound.ca

0 Comments - Discuss

The Living Fields Reveals New Song Online

With the release of epic doom metallers The Living Fields' sophomore full-length "Running Out Of Daylight" drawing near - hitting the streets of North America on July 26th via Candlelight Records - Decibel Magazine is hosting the public's first listen to the record today.

Swing by The Deciblog to stream the track "Glacial Movements" now at this location.

The "Running Out Of Daylight" (reviewed here) track listing is as follows:

1. Remnant
2. Perseverance
3. From Miseries to Bloodsoaked Fields
4. When the Walls Go
5. Bitterness
6. Glacial Movements
7. Intermissione
8. Running Out of Daylight

0 Comments - Discuss

The Living Fields Signs To Candlelight Records

Candlelight Records has confirmed the signing of multi-national progressive doom-death outfit The Living Fields. The trio, with members based in Chicago, London and Ottawa, has received early acclaim via their self-released 2004 and 2007 recordings. Now working on their Candlelight debut, currently titled "Running Out of Daylight" and planned for release in early 2009, the band looks to take the next step in their still developing career.

“Candlelight has been very successful working with bands that defy convention,” says guitarist Jason Muxlow regarding the band’s choice of label. “Their discography is filled with milestones. Their legacy undoubtedly speaks for itself and we're thrilled to be part of their future.”

Originally formed in 2002 by Muxlow, The Living Fields have had their sound likened to that of My Dying Bride, November’s Doom and others. But with a twist. Together with vocalist Jon Higgs (also of Monsterworks) and drummer Chad Walls (Brodequin, Enter Self), Muxlow and The Living Fields explore a wide range of sounds and styles utilizing a palette of guitar, drums, bass, strings, piano, and spine-chilling vocals.

The Living Fields are the latest to join London-based Candlelight’s growing US roster. The label is distributed exclusively in the United States via Caroline/EMI, PHD Canada for the northern country and Plastichead Music for Europe.

You can check out some of the band's material on their MySpace page.

0 Comments - Discuss

The Living Fields Complete Debut Album

THE LIVING FIELDS, featuring Chad Walls (ex-BRODEQUIN, ex-PUSTULATED) and Jon Higgs (Monsterworks) have completed work on their self-titled debut album.

Two years of sporadic collaboration have resulted in seven songs that cover a wide range of styles and emotions; from the crushing lament of 'What is Left Behind' to the funereal 'Burial at Sky', to the epic, thrashing closer, 'The Overview Effect'.

The music is rooted in doom, but elements of prog, melodic death metal, world music and classical seep into the arrangements. String quartet arrangements accentuate both the highs and lows while snatches of piano, timpani and hand percussion add detail to the work.

1. What is Left Behind
2. Burial at Sky
3. This Great Majority
4. Feast for the Earth
5. Monument
6. The Soil Giveth
7. The Overview Effect

One full track, 'Monument', has just been uploaded to the band's website, along with 30-second samples of the remaining tracks.

An additional track, 'The Soil Giveth', has been uploaded to the band's MySpace page.

The band is currently shopping the album to labels for consideration.

THE LIVING FIELDS released their demo, "The Miseries Never Cease" in 2004 to wide acclaim.

0 Comments - Discuss

The Living Fields Demo For Download

The Living Fields' latest demo, 'The Miseries Never Cease' has finally been released and is now available for download from their website.

The Living Fields play a hybrid of doom, thrash and epic metal with string quartet arrangements and socio-political lyrics. 'The Miseries Never Cease' clocks in at over 22 minutes and contains four tracks:

01. A Leveling Spirit
02. The Miseries Never Cease
03. Dim Prospects
04. Empires Fall

If interested, go to the Download section of the band's website.

0 Comments - Discuss