"some music was meant to stay underground..."

White Willow

Formed: 1995
From: Norway
Last Known Status: Active


White Willow is a Norwegian art rock band, mixing elements of orchestral pop, 70's progressive rock, jazz-rock and even electronic elements. They have released 5 albums so far: 1995's Ignis Fatuus, which features symphonic folk rock in the vein of early King Crimson and Genesis as well as Mellow Candle; 1998's Ex Tenebris, which is minimalist prog/post-rock; 2000's Sacrament, a full-blown symphonic rock/pop release; 2004's Storm Season, the band's best-selling record to date, mixing darker, more guitar-heavy elements into their sound, and their fifth studio album, Signal to Noise, which was released in August 2006. According to their website (as of July 2011), their new album Terminal Twilight is set to be released on October 17th 2011.

Latest White Willow News

Below is our complete White Willow news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Note: We began associating news directly with bands in late 2003. Therefore, earlier band news may not be listed on this page.

White Willow Announces New Album "Future Hopes"

Laser's Edge has confirmed the release date for "Future Hopes," the seventh full-length from eclectic Norwegian prog quintet, White Willow, unveiling the album's artwork, track listing, and other details on the record. "Future Hopes" will be issued on CD, vinyl LP and digital formats on March 31st, 2017. Audio samples, preorder info, and more will be issued in the coming days.

"Future Hopes" is the band's first album since 2011's well-received "Terminal Twilight" and it sees the outfit exploring some of the most "progressive" territory ventured into to date, with several lengthy tracks and more instrumental passages than the band is usually known for. Musically, the album builds upon the foundation of its predecessor, with a modern approach to production. "Future Hopes" also features a heavy use of synthesizers, including the unique textures of the famed Blade Runner synth, the Yamaha CS80.

The "Future Hopes" lineup, which as always is a loose constellation of musicians with multi-instrumentalists Jacob Holm-Lupo and Mattias Olsson at the core, sees the return of several White Willow stalwarts, including flautist Ketil Einarsen (Jaga Jazzist, Motorpsycho), keyboardist Lars Fredrik Frøislie (Wobbler, Tusmørke), and bassist Ellen Andrea Wang (Pixel, Manu Katché Quartet). The singer is however a new arrival. Venke Knutson is best known in her native Norway More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

White Willow Streaming "Terminal Twilight" LP

Norwegian progressive rockers White Willow are streaming the entire "Terminal Twilight" LP, the band's sixth album at this location. The album is scheduled for release on October 11, 2011.

The press release for the album states: "For the first time White Willow has chosen to abandon the high cost/hi gloss environment of the professional studio in favor of their own attic. The album was recorded with minimal, often primitive equipment and has been mixed with very little in the way of processing and editing. The result is a raw, real and almost live-sounding album, warts-and-all - well, relative to the band's meticulously polished last three albums, anyway.

"It is both a departure and a continuation in terms of White Willow's discography. The renewed emphasis on acoustic guitars and pastoral sections, the somewhat gothic, mysterious atmosphere, are all hallmarks of a sort of a 'classic' White Willow sound. On the other hand, there is an added element of experimentation and playfulness, and a more daring approach to harmonics that takes the band several leaps forward."

The track listing for "Terminal Twilight" is:

1. Hawks Circle
2. Snowswept
3. Kansas Regrets
4. Red Leaves
5. Floor 67
6. Natasha
7. Searise
8. A Rumor of Twilight
9. The Howling Wind

0 Comments - Discuss

New White Willow Album

The Norwegian progressive/folk rock band White Willow released on September the 21st the forth album, entitled "Storm Season," through The Laser's Edge record label.

According to Musical Discoveries, the record is "a moody, magnificent masterpiece," and scores 5/5 points. Tarkus Magazine says "it features their best songwriting to date, and an absolutely flawless production. 'Storm Season' is one of the best records produced in this country - regardless of genre. The record of the year."

The whole review is posted at this link.

More info on the band official site.

0 Comments - Discuss