"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: Russia
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Starsoup News

Below is our complete Starsoup news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Starsoup Reveal "Castles Of Sand"

Russian prog-rockers Starsoup will release the second album "Castles Of Sand" in December 2017. The exact release date will be revealed soon. The artwork and track list was revealed today and can be viewed below.

Starsoup is the heavy metal/progressive rock project of vocalist Alexey Markov (Distant Sun). The songs vary stylistically – you may find that some are heavily influenced by Metallica, Queensryche and Savatage. The project was founding in Moscow towards the end of 2011 when the first single, “Angels," was recorded. The music consists of heavy guitars, atmospheric keys with an accent on the grand piano and varying vocal techniques.

The track listing is as follows:

1. The Catcher in the Lie
2. Brother's Plea
3. Into the Woods
4. Your World Is Dead
5. Rumors of Better Love
6. Escapist
7. Winter in Shire
8. Castle
9. The World That Has Moved On
10. Light Up the Stars
11. Moon on the Shore
12. Road to Sunset (Piano Version) More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Starsoup Streaming Upcoming Album

Moscow's Starsoup will release "Bazaar of Wonders," an opus of progressive metal/rock, November 29 on Sublimity Records. The album is now available as a digital release and for streaming over at bandcamp and below in the player. Currently a studio-only project, Starsoup is the creation of vocalist/guitarist/bassist Alexey Markov (Shadow Host, Distant Sun) who is joined on the album by keyboardist/sampler Andrew Gryaznov (Timesquare) and several guest musicians.

The compositional foundation of the album consisted of the four songs - "Angels," "Cradle of War," "Bazaar" and "Perfect Loser" - that were written and melodically composed during Markov's participation in Crime Of Passion, in which he served as vocalist and Gryaznov keyboardist - respectively. That rush of creativity ultimately resulted in eight more songs, including one composed by Lex Plotnikov (Mechanical Poet).

Those who participated in the recording of "Bazaar of Wonders" include: Alexander Vetkhov (all drums and percussion), Nicholas Angel, Kostya Naumenko, Darya Savchenko (W. Angel's Conquest, Kiev), Ilya Mamontov (Epidemia), Oleg Mishin (Catharsis), Andrey Nova (Nova Art), Yevgeny Nesterov and Natalya Fedotova. The recording, re-amping, mixing and mastering by Evgeny Vinogradov and DAI Records.

0 Comments - Discuss