"some music was meant to stay underground..."


Formed: 1980
From: Hull, United Kingdom
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Salem News

Below is our complete Salem news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Salem Is "Not Guilty" With New Track Stream

U.K. NWoBHM act Salem is streaming the new track "Not Guilty." The song appears on the band's third release "Dark Days," which will be issued on April 29th by Pure Steel Records.

The track list for the album is:

1. Not Guilty
2. Ninth Months
3. Complicated
4. Lost My Mind
5. Dark Days
6. Second Sight
7. Tormented
8. Fallen Angel
9. Toy Story
10. Prodigal Son
11. Tank

Check out the track here: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Salem Releasing "Dark Days"

The release date of the new Salem album "Dark Days" is now set for April 29th, 2016 via Pure Steel Records. The label comments:

"Founded 1979 in Hull -out of the ashes of Ethel The Frog - Salem has played numerous festivals like Brofest, Play it Loud, Very Eavy, Headbangers Open Air, Rock You to Hell, BÄÄÄM, etc, and gigs across Europe and even in Dubai, since they reformed in 2010 after a long silence.

"'Dark Days' is their third album following the 2010 'In The Beginning…' compilation of 80s tracks and 'Forgotten Dreams' in 2013 (both released by Pure Steel). The new album, with powerful songs and majestic melody lines, reveals a wide musical range with hints of Rainbow, Thin Lizzy, and UFO. 'Not Guilty' and 'Lost My Mind' are perfect examples of this.

"Heavier songs include 'Tormented' and 'Second Sight' and they daringly include the likes of 'Toy Story,' but all songs will delight you with fine guitar playing and the outstanding vocals from Simon Saxby. The eight minute long epic 'Nine Months' is a highlight composition that many bands would only dream about in their whole time of existence but never will be able to write. So try Salem if you haven't already done so!" More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Salem Details New Album "Forgotten Dreams"

Traditional metal band Salem will release the album "Forgotten Dreams" on December 6th via Pure Rock Records, a division of Pure Steel Records. Salem was founded in 1980 and released four demos from 1981-1983, but the new release marks the band's debut album.

According to the press release: "the first class production gives the right base for the absolutely fresh songs you might not expect from such 'old guys'. Of course, the vocals are still totally convincing, so also this important thing for any bans gives no point to criticize. Many bands from the glorious early 80's times don't keep their high class with their later albums. Salem do and they set new peaks. Please expect melodic post-NWo British Heavy Metal in champion’s league quality which will [please] every Hard Rock, Metal or whatever fan from great hand made music. Every song is a killer!"

The track list for "Forgotten Dreams" is:

1. Forgotten Dreams
2. High Stakes
3. When Love Is In Your Heart
4. This Heart Is Mine
5. Kazakafnu
6. The Answer
7. Reach To Eternety
8. The Best Is Yet To Come
9. X-Rated
10. Break The Chains
11. Ask The Lonely
12. Aftershock More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Salem Signs With Pure Rock Records

U.K. traditional metal band Salem has signed on with Pure Rock Records, a division of Pure Steel Records, for the release of the debut full length album "Forgotten Dreams." Salem was founded in 1980 and released four demos from 1981-1983. A compilation of the demo material was issued in 2010 when the band reformed, in the form of a compilation called "In the Beginning...." In early 2013, the band released a new EP called "X Rated."

More news on "Forgotten Dreams," including artwork, track listing and release date is expected soon. the current lineup for Salem (a/k/a Salem (UK)) is:

Simon Saxby - Vocals
Paul Macnamara - Guitars
Mark Allison - Guitars
Adrian Jenkinson - Bass
Paul Mendham – Drums More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss