"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Cardinals Folly

From: Finland
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Cardinals Folly News

Below is our complete Cardinals Folly news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Cardinals Folly To Unleash "Deranged Pagan Sons"

Finland's dark princes of the riff, doom metal cult Cardinals Folly will unleash the fourth studio album “Deranged Pagan Sons” through Polish Nine Records on CD, and via Spanish Topillo on LP, on September 4th.

Dabbling in the world of occultism, weird tales, pagan rites and luciferian depravity, the band has recorded an album consisting eight powerful, even wild anthems of heavy doom and metal mastery, that never lets the savage grip go, despite of going on a varied 48-minute fiery 'n' groovy metal adventure, where the only rule is to doom in, drop out, rock hard & stay true.

The previous album “Holocaust of Ecstasy & Freedom” (Shadow Kingdom Records, 2016) paved the way to the fulfillment of doomed art, where every song rolls by like a megafauna of a bygone age.The doom metal underground sometimes seems packed with toothless sheep, so it is great to spend some time with wolves. Laughing off the shackles of the latest trends or retro gimmicks, Helsinki trio Cardinals Folly bring an energy and inventiveness to the genre that is authentic and unique. Drink from this chalice and give your body and mind to the old gods.

The track list and artwork can be found here: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Cardinals Folly Releasing New Album

It’s only been two years since devotees last drank from the chalice of Cardinals Folly, and now the band is back again with another devastating death hammer of total doom.

The provocatively titled third album "Holocaust of Ecstasy & Freedom" is set for international release on June 3rd via Shadow Kingdom Records.

Two tracks from the album - "Goats On The Left" and "Her Twins Of Evil" - can be heard below, and the full track listing is as follows:

1. The Poison Test
2. Goats on the Left
3. Her Twins of Evil
4. Nocturnal Zeal (Winter Orgy)
5. Holocaust of Ecstasy & Freedom
6. Psychomania
7. La Papesse More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Cardinals Folly Debuts Another New Track

Doom merchants Cardinals Folly have teamed with TheObelisk.net for the debut of a new track off of the band's sophomore album, "Our Cult Continues!" The song, "The Lover's Crypt," is now playing at this location. "Our Cult Continues!" was just released August 19th on Shadow Kingdom Records. Stream more of the album below.

0 Comments - Discuss

Cardinals Folly Debuts New Track

InvisibleOranges.com has posted the exclusive premiere of "Sighisoaran," a brand new track off of "Our Cult Continues!," the forthcoming sophomore album from doom merchants Cardinals Folly.

The album is due out on August 19th via Shadow Kingdom Records, which gives you plenty of time to soak in the gloom of "Sighisoaran." Do so at this location.

0 Comments - Discuss

Cardinals Folly Posts Two Tracks

Shadow Kingdom Records will release Our Cult Continues!, the sophomore album from Finnish doom merchants Cardinals Folly, on August 19th. Stream two selections from the eight-song opus, the title track and the 10+ minute song "Fallout Ritualist," below in the player.

0 Comments - Discuss

Doommantia Volume 3 Compilation Streaming

The Doommantia Volume 3 compilation has now been posted and is available for streaming and download over on bandcamp. This anthology picks up where its predecessors left off and features twenty bands from the world of doom, drone, stoner, retro and sludge.

This compilation was put together to raise money to benefit Ed Barnard of Doommantia.com. He suffered a heart attack and due to huge medical bills was forced to move back to his native Australia at the end of July. Basically homeless and rebuilding his life from scratch, he has no family to fall back on and cannot work due to severe health issues. A $7 donation gets you these tracks but you can donate more if you have the means to do so.

0 Comments - Discuss

Cardinals Folly Material To Be Reissued

Shadow Kingdom Records has set June 11, 2013 as the release date for "Strange Conflicts of the Past," a collection of early recordings from Finnish heavy/doom Metal band Cardinals Folly. One of the best Finnish bands performing this style, their early material is all out of print and impossible to get. This is a fine package of all of their early works and arguably their very best material.

The tracks 1-3 are from the "Heretic's Hangover" EP, which was released in early 2008 as the first release under the name of Cardinals Folly. This release was just a few hundred copies and was sold out pretty fast. They left out the last track of this EP, "Uncharted Seas" because that was already on the debut album. Shadow Kingdom wanted to offer some unreleased stuff instead.

Tracks 5-8 are from the "Orthodox Faces" EP (2009), which was also sold out quickly and received a notable welcoming in the doom circles. Tracks 4,9 and 10 are unreleased tracks from the same era of these two EPs, also recorded in 2008-2009. Track 4 was featured on The Coven's 2006 demo-EP "Beltane," but this version of the song is much better, as it's recorded in 2008 with the Cardinals Folly line-up. Below is the tracklisting and cover art of "Strange Conflicts of the Past."

1. Intro
2. The Right Hand of Doom
3. Rasputin (The Mad Monk)
4. Serpent Nights
5. Opening Ceremony
6. Blood Axis Raider
7. Cardinals Folly
8. They Found Atlantis
9. The Model
10. Transmission From the Mad Arab

 photo jpegbase64ebd87ede5c2e42e9_zpsa7b6d406.jpg

0 Comments - Discuss