"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: Utrecht, Netherlands
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Orphanage News

Below is our complete Orphanage news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Note: We began associating news directly with bands in late 2003. Therefore, earlier band news may not be listed on this page.

Xystus Announces "Equilibrio" Release Date

Sensory Records has announced the upcoming release of Dutch progressive metal band Xystus’ third album, "Equilibrio." This rock opera was recorded with a 60 piece orchestra and a 30 member choir, and includes guest performances from Simone Simmons of Epica and George Oosthoek of Orphanage. With an influx of gothic, progressive and traditional heavy metal influences melding with this dramatic orchestration, fans of Epica, Ayreon and Kamelot should keep both eyes peeled for this release to strike. "Equilibrio" is set for a North American release date of September 30.

Conceived as both an actual stage production and studio recording, "Equilibrio" was performed to four sold out audiences in July, 2008 - over 4,000 people witnessed the opera.

The studio recording of "Equilibrio" features key scenes from the opera. In addition to the 60 piece US Concert orchestra and 30 member choir, Xystus enlisted vocal performances from Simone Simons (Epica), George Osthoek (Orphanage, Delain) and Dutch theater veterans Michelle Splietelhof and John Vooijs.

The story of Equilibrio revolves around a wanderer named Diegu (Bas Dolmans) who finds himself caught between the forces of good and evil the power mad ruler Primos (John Vooijs) and the altruistic rebel Avelin (Michelle Splietelhof). Primos makes a pact with Death (George Osthoek) take over the world. After unsuccessful efforts by Diegu to mediate between Avelin and Primos, the latter ends up with complete power and the world is thrown out of balance. Diegu is summoned by the godess Lady Sophia (Simone Simons). She watches over Earth and entrusts Diegu with the job reuniting Primos and Avelin in order to restore the balance between good and evil again.

You can check out some of the band's music on their MySpace page.

0 Comments - Discuss

Headline News

Orphanage Split Up

Dutch gothic doom/death metal band ORPHANAGE have officially split up. The group's statement on the matter reads as follows:

"From recent internal discussions it appeared that there was too much irritation and a lack of mutual trust to be able to make a new ORPHANAGE product by the high-quality standards that the band has been known for throughout the years. An end has come to 11 years of 'innovative gregorian celtic groovy melodic doom death metal.' We've had a great time. A lot of special moments are in our hearts forever. We were there, YOU were there.

"Please send the news to all that have supported us in all these years, in what form whatsoever. Doesn't matter if you read this for the 100th time, just be sure that we want to thank YOU ALL!!!

"No ORPHANAGE without you; everyone that visited our concerts, that listened to our music, those who have worked for us, worked together with us, those who have shared the ENERGY with us . . . . forever: THANKS!!!"

ORPHANAGE's fourth full-length album, "Driven", was released in April 2004 via Nuclear Blast Records.

5 Comments - Discuss

"Armageddon Over Wacken Live 2004" Details

Armageddon Music have announced a March 21 release date for the "Armageddon Over Wacken Live 2004" 3-CD set. The package will feature more than 220 minutes and 38 bands, along with liner notes, photos and information about the annual German metal festival. Here is the complete track listing:

Disc 1:

01. ANTHRAX - "Indians"
02. ANTHRAX - "Only"
03. DESTRUCTION - "Nailed To The Cross"
04. CHILDREN OF BODOM - "Sixpounder"
05. CANNIBAL CORPSE - "Dormant Bodies Bursting"
06. MAYHEM - "Pargans Fears"
07. DEATH ANGEL - "Thicker Than Blood"
08. UNLEASHED - "To Asgaard We Fly"
09. ORPHANAGE - "Five Crystals"
10. EKTOMORF - "I Know Them"
11. EKTOMORF - "Destroy"
12. BAL-SAGOTH - "The Emperial Lexicon"
13. MNEMIC - "Ghost"
14. CATHEDRAL - "Stained Glass Horizon"
15. NEVERMORE - "Enemies Of Reality"

Disc 2: More...

Read more...  |  4 Comments - Discuss

Orphanage Changes Line-Up

Orphanage, a heavy metal band from Utrecht, the Netherlands, anounced the following news:

We decided to stop continuing to work with our keyboard player Lasse. It was a tough decision to make as Lasse is a very friendly and honest guy. At the other hand we still want to grow as a band in several ways and we need a radical change of plan to make this happen.

Guus will play keyboards again, like he did in the past. At the moment we are working with two guitar players. We have good faith cooperation with both guitar players will work out well. We will introduce the new band members soon!

0 Comments - Discuss