"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: Finland
Last Known Status: Regrouped

Latest Tenhi News

Below is our complete Tenhi news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Note: We began associating news directly with bands in late 2003. Therefore, earlier band news may not be listed on this page.

Tenhi Posts "Saivo" Teaser Clip

Prophecy Productions has posted a teaser clip online for the upcoming Tenhi album "Saivo," which is due out on November 25th, 2011. Check out the "Savio" teaser clip in the player provided below.

0 Comments - Discuss

Tenhi Reveals New Song Titles And New Lineup

Finnish folk metallers TENHI have issued the following update:

"The new songs for the coming album, 'Saivo', are evolving nicely. We, however, stand now in a rather unorthodox situation as we never have had so much new material waiting to be recorded.

"Here are some working titles for the songs: 'Noiad', 'Rinta Maan', 'Kuolleet Lehdet', 'Vapaus Saimaa', 'Kuunteluyöt', 'Uloin', 'Horrospuhuja', 'Pojan Kiiski', 'Kuvavuori', 'Lintusalo', 'Laulu Kuolevalla', 'Luut', 'Pohjan', 'Maa Ja Veri', 'Paluu Joelle', 'Polku Rantaan', 'Risukko', 'Pienet Purot'."

"Ilkka Salminen [vocals, guitar, bass, harmonium, percussion] has now officially left the band. We decided to announce this as there has been some speculation around the matter. This isn't a dramatic change in the band at all but rather awaited decision. His contribution has decreased along the years and his personal interests lie elsewhere, while for us the band has become even more crucial part of our lives. Despite this he will still be around as a friend for sure. So thanks for the past years — rock on!" More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Tenhi's "Folk Aesthetic 1996-2006" Details

Tenhi's upcoming "Folk Aesthetic 1996-2006" will be released in Europe on August 6, 2007 (US release date not specified). The album will contain loads of unreleased material from the ten year period. Here is a statement from Tyko:

"We just finished mastering the music and completing the cover artwork of the 10th year celebration compilation album called Tenhi 'Folk Aesthetic 1996-2006'. It includes over three hours of rare and unreleased material from the years 1996-2006. The idea is to make a "book-like" format with some info about each song, lyrics and translations and more. I also drew the artwork specially for it. More news posted soon about the release date."

The 3CD album will be packaged as a noble digibook with 76 pages booklet, liner notes and special artwork and drawings by Tyko.

The final track listing of "Folk Aesthetic 1996-2006" is: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Tenhi To Embark On First German Tour In 5 Years

For the first time after a hiatus of roughly five years, TENHI are about to enter German stages again, as they are going to perform a few choice concerts in September. Germany's own NEUN WELTEN, who are going to complement each performance with their mystical Nature Folk, will support the Finnish band.

The current tour dates areas follows:

06/09/07 D - Berlin - Maschinenhaus (http://www.kesselhaus-berlin.de)
07/09/07 D - Nuremberg - Diskothek Loop (http://www.loopclub.de)
08/09/07 D - Zwischenwelten Festival - Koblenz (http://www.zwischenwelten.net/)
09/09/07 D - Leipzig - Moritzbastei (http://www.moritzbastei.de)

0 Comments - Discuss

Harmaa Sign With Auerbach Tontrager

The Airut saga that began with TENHI's 'airut:ciwi' now stands on its own under the title HARMAA. The band HARMAA is based on the visions of Tyko Saarikko and Ilmari Issakainen, both known as TENHI members. The second part of the Airut saga - 'airut:aamujen' - was released in Finland through UTUstudio. All of its 9 tracks are piano-driven compositions varying from romantic atmospheres to the darker shades of nature. HARMAA have now signed to Auerbach Tontraeger who will release the album 'airut:aamujen' and the upcoming material for the rest of the world. "We passed through many great themes when we did the song 'Kielo' for TENHI's 'airut:ciwi'. 'Kielo' was very aesthetic, melodic, and piano-driven. We wanted to extend these themes and feelings into a full-length album. In that sense, 'airut:aamujen' is a natural follow-up in the Airut saga. And this saga will continue with a new full-length album!"

0 Comments - Discuss

More News on Tenhi Album

The next Tenhi album is due to be released through Prophecy productions in March–April 2005. The tentative track listing is:

01. kuoppa
02. kausien ranta
03. varpuspäivä
04. vähäinen violetissa
05. salain
06. aatos
07. tuulenkaato
08. viimeiseen
09. maa syttyy
10. sataa
11. rannalta haettu

0 Comments - Discuss

Tenhi Issue Details On Future Album

Finnish Folk metallers TENHI have posted the following update on their official website:

Tenhi has almost finished the recordings for the upcoming full-length album which ought to be released in February–March 2005. It promises to be an intense and strong album which will take the Tenhi saga into even further spheres. The album is once again recorded at UTUstudio and will be released by Prophecy. Tenhi has also extended the original three longplay album record deal with one additional longplay album.

0 Comments - Discuss