"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Cnoc An Tursa

Formed: 2006
From: Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Cnoc An Tursa News

Below is our complete Cnoc An Tursa news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Cnoc An Tursa Details New Album "The Forty Five"

Considering Scotland’s own rich, battle-studded history and glorious scenery, you wouldn’t expect the tide of ‘Heritage black metal’ to be confined to the south of Hadrian’s Wall. Cnoc An Tursa – Gaelic for "Hill of the Standing Stone" – has been using its Falkirk home as the source of sweeping grandeur associated with the movement for a decade now, and their 2013 debut album, "The Giants Of Auld," was a stirring take on symphonic folk and black metal, bringing in strong Gaelic influences but reaching for the epic through sheer muscle and powerful, mid-paced grooves rather than overdoing the bombast.

Now the five-piece are returning to the fray with a new album "The Forty Five," which is due out on February 17th via Apocalyptic Witchcraft. The album is a concept based around the Jacobite Uprising in 1745, waged by Charles Edward Stuart, better known as Bonnie Prince Charlie, to wrest the British throne from George II.

The track list is as follows:

1. Will Ye No Come Back Again
2. The Yellow Locks of Charlie
3. The Standard on the Braes o'Mar7
4. Wha Wadna Fecht for Charlie
5. Flora MacDonald
6. Sound the Pibroch
7. Fuigheall
8. The Last of the Stuarts More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Cnoc An Tursa Releasing New Album

Cnoc An Tursa is finally releasing the follow-up to 2013's stellar "The Giants Of Auld" album (reviewed here). The group comments:

"Here's a sneak peek at the artwork for our 2nd album 'The Forty Five.' The album is finally mixed and due to be mastered within the next few weeks, a release date is to follow!"

0 Comments - Discuss

Cnoc An Tursa Recruits New Vocalist

Scottland's Cnoc An Tursa has checked in with the following announcement about recruiting a new vocalist and working on the follow-up to 2013 album "The Giants of Auld" (reviewed here):

"We would like to take this opportunity to welcome our new vocalist Scott Anderson into the fold. The band will enter LSD studio Lübeck Germany with the very talented Lasse Lammert to begin tracking drums for our 2nd album 'The Forty Five' in mid August."

0 Comments - Discuss

Cnoc An Tursa Recruits New Bassist

Scotland's Cnoc An Tursa - which was nominated as one of the best metal newcomers of 2013 - just issued the following announcement about recruiting a new bassist:

"We would like to take this opportunity to announce our new full time bass player, Tony Dunn to the band.

"Tony's first gig with us will be at North Of The Wall festival on March 28th in Glasgow @ Classic Grand.

"He has been a friend of the band for many years and was an obvious choice for bass duties. He is very talented musician and we hope you will give him a warm welcome!"

0 Comments - Discuss

Cnoc An Tursa Writing New Album

Scottish outfit Cnoc An Tursa - which was nominated as one of the best newcomers of 2013 in our annual year-end awards - is now working on a new album. The band commetns:

"For those wondering what updates there are in the Cnoc An Tursa camp: we are currently writing our second album for Candlelight Records and looking into getting at least one 2014 U.K. tour completed this year along with festival appearances in UK / Europe for 2015."

This upcoming second album will follow the 2013 full-length release "The Giants of Auld" (reviewed here).

0 Comments - Discuss


Best Metal Newcomers Of 2013 Explored, Part 1

Each year in our annual metal awards we take a look at the best “newcomers” – those bands that released debut full-lengths worth your time.

In addition to the standard slew of burgeoning metal bands getting their footing in 2013, there were several new projects created by established members of the scene that dropped some of the best albums of the year.

To help get you acquainted with the best new talent releasing albums you may have missed, we’ll be looking at each of the bands nominated for the “best newcomer” category by our staff. Today content manager xFiruath covers Witherscape (which ended up winning the category in our 2013 awards), Gloryhammer, and Cnoc an Tursa.


An instance of the champ coming out of retirement to show the young pups how things are done, Witherscape marks the return of European metal legend Dan Swano, who has spent the last several years behind the sound board instead of in front of the microphone.

Rather than going in the direction of his various ‘90s projects, this band is essentially a progressive death metal outing, with some strong classic metal leanings. “The Inheritance” was an album I greatly enjoyed on first listen, and have only come to appreciate even more over time, to the point it’s now among my most played metal on any given week.

To find out more about Witherscape, you can read our interview with Dan Swano, or check out my original review of the album right here.


Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Cnoc An Tursa Streaming Track From Debut LP

Scottish folk/black metal band Cnoc An Tursa is streaming the new track "The Lion Of Scotland." The track appears on the band's debut LP "The Giants of Auld," which is due for release on February 25, 2013 via Candlelight Records. The album delves into the history of Scotland.

The track listing for "The Giants Of Auld" is as follows:

1. The Piper O'Dundee
2. The Lion of Scotland
3. Bannockburn
4. Hail Land of My Fathers
5. Ettrick Forest in November
6. The Spellbound Knight
7. In Shadowland
8. Winter - A Dirge
9. Culloden Moor
10. Bl?r na h-Eaglaise Brice

Check out "The Lion of Scotland" here: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss