"some music was meant to stay underground..."


Formed: 1993
From: Paris, France
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Elend News

Below is our complete Elend news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Note: We began associating news directly with bands in late 2003. Therefore, earlier band news may not be listed on this page.

Elend Working On New Album

"A World In Their Screams" will be released on April 23th, 2007. This album is the third instalment in ELEND's "Winds" cycle and "continues the long epic prose poem combining personal themes with references to ancient Greek authors."

As for now, the band - still in the finishing stages of the recording process - remains secretive and summarizes the new work as "the most brutal and bizarre album in ELEND's history, something most listeners will hardly recover from."

"A World In Their Screams" will be released in Europe by Prophecy Productions, in France by Holy Records and in USA by Orphika - a division of Noevdia, via Season of Mist America.

0 Comments - Discuss

Elend To Release New Album In September

French dark symphonic band Elend will release their new album, "Sunwar the Dead", on September 13 through Prophecy Productions. The cd will be the second part of a five-album cycle. In contrast to the transitional work "Winds Devouring Men" (the prologue to this cycle released in 2003), the pieces of music featured on "Sunwar the Dead" are the fastest and most violent ones ever written by the composers. For the first time Elend have recorded with a complete classical ensemble (consisting of more than 50 classically trained musicians and singers), featuring strings, brass, woodwinds, orchestral percussion and female choir.

"Sunwar the Dead" track listing:
01. Chaomphalos
02. Ardour
03. Sunwar the Dead
04. Ares in Their Eyes
05. The Hemlock Sea
06. La Terre N'aime Pas Le Sang
07. A Song of Ashes
08. Laceration (mp3)
09. Poliorketika
10. Blood and Grey Skies Entwined
11. Threnos
For more information, visit the Prophecy Productions web site.

0 Comments - Discuss

Elend Announce Tracklisting & Release Date

September 13 will see the release of Elend's new album "Sunwar The Dead," the second part of a cycle of five albums started with "Winds Devouring Men." In contrast to the slow, relatively calm and intimist "Winds Devouring Men," "Sunwar the Dead" is a furious, dark and fast effort. Some of the tracks must be ranked as the most brutal ever composed by Elend. On "Sunwar The Dead," Elend are accompanied by a ensemble of more than 50 classically
trained musicians and singers.

"Sunwar The Dead" is going to feature the following tracks:

1. Chaomphalos
2. Ardour
3. Sunwar The Dead
4. Ares In Their Eyes
5. The Hemlock Sea
6. La terre n'aime pas le sang
7. A Song Of Ashes
8. Laceration
9. Poliorketika
10. Blood and Grey Skies Entwined
11. Threnos

0 Comments - Discuss