"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: United States
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Mindcage News

Below is our complete Mindcage news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Mindcage Mixing New "Our Own Devices" Edition

Metal fusion band Mindcage has entered the mixing stages on the upcoming special edition of "Our Own Devices" with triple-platinum producer Michael Wagener (Ozzy Osbourne, Accept, Megadeth, Alice Cooper, Helloween) at his WireWorld Studio just outside of Nashville. The original version of "Our Own Devices" was self-produced by the band and engineered by Wagener.

The special edition of "Our Own Devices" is set to hit the masses this summer, and follows the original album’s engaging storyline, inspired by the fiction of H.G. Wells and Jules Verne. The record introduces the world to the character of Arabella Vash, a young woman who uses the power of her dreams to transform the dystopian world she inhabits. The special edition sets the state perfectly for the band’s upcoming second installment in the story.

“I think the band is really doing something very interesting with the dystopian and steampunk themes.” says Producer Michael Wagener. “It's a cool concept and something new. The music really suits it. I really had a lot of fun helping bring this musical vision to life.”

“With Michael Wagener at the helm producing the songs from the ground up, it has been nothing short of astonishing not only sonically but in the way he has distilled the essence of our sound and framed the spirit of each of the songs exquisitely,” says Mindcage's Dietrick Hardwick. “He has done the unexpected at every turn, yet followed the arc of the story perfectly. The broken dystopian world takes a turn towards being restored to an empire of glory, and the new songs come out of that oppressive world into stunning grandeur, then it culminates with a very powerful cliffhanger you never see coming that leaves you in a state of suspense and hungry for the next chapter. He has really conveyed the drama of this album with these new and different pieces, this release will truly be special for our fans.”

The special edition track listing is: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Mindcage Announces New "Our Own Devices" Edition

Mindcage will re-release the band's debut, Dystopian-themed concept album "Our Own Devices" as a Michael Wagener-mixed special edition this summer. Today, the band reveals the renewed track listing for the album:

1. Cadence March
2. For All Mankind (The Dark Design)
3. Our Own Devices
4. The Human Race
5. At Full Steam
6. Firefly
7. The One Constant
8. Arabella’s Arc
9. The Serenity Sequence (Renaissance Pt. I)
10. The Grand Restoration (Renaissance Pt. II)
11. The Navigator's Hymn
12. The Coming Storm More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Mindcage Offering Single For Free Download

Mindcage is giving away a free download of new single "The Human Race," which comes off "Our Own Devices." The release was roduced by Dietrick Hardwick and mixed by Michael Wagener (Metallica, Ozzy Osbourne, Skid Row, Dokken, Raven, Megadeth).

Download the track at the band's official website here, using the password savethehumanrace. The band also comments:

"'Our Own Devices' is a storybook fantasy set to music. Combining cultural and literary elements of steampunk, dystopian society and futuristic technologies with highly articulate progressive metal music, the album transports the listener to a world broken and needing a hero.

"The free download includes song, cover art, lyrics, and band photo... We really want to hear what you think and give us some feedback! If you like what you hear... 'Our Own Devices' is available on iTunes, Amazon, and direct from our website." More...

Read more...  |  1 Comment - Discuss

Mindcage Finishing New Album

Mindcage is presently completing new album "Our Own Devices" under the helm of famed rock and metal producer Michael Wagener (Ozzy Osbourne, Metallica, Megadeth, Mötley Crüe, W.A.S.P., Overkill, Accept) at his WireWorld Studios. The band is very excited to stay in Nashville the entire month of December and work with Michael Wagener to realize this extraordinary vision.

Set in an alternate future, Mindcage's concept album "Our Own Devices," warns of what may become of our society if we turn our backs on the importance of arts, music, humanities, and spirituality. It also introduces the world to Arabella Vash, a woman on a mission to awaken and enlighten a world gone wrong. Her message will shake humanity to its very core.

Guitarist Dietrick Hardwick comments, "We are very excited to announce that we have chosen Julie Westlake (Hydrogyn) as the voice of Arabella Vash for 'Our Own Devices.' Julie has the power and emotion in her voice needed to convey Arabella's journey and character. She sounds amazing and has a command and range of voice that is just uncanny. It's also been a real dream come true for us to work with one of the greatest record producers of all time, the legendary Michael Wagener. We couldn't be happier!"

"This has just been an extraordinary experience, seeing how everything is coming together. The band works so efficiently with Michael Wagener that they have finished recording ahead of schedule and are now entering the mix phase," cites Executive Producer Ben Galecki, "Michael really knows how to decipher what the band is going for and get the absolute best from them. This is going to be epic!"

0 Comments - Discuss