"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell

From: United States
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell News

Below is our complete Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell Streams New Song

Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell is set to release new album "Keep It Greasy" on October 14th via Rise Above Records. Today the band has released a new single entitled "Tired 'N' Wired" - check it out below. The album's full track listing is:

1. U Got Wot I Need
2. Hairy Brain Part 2
3. Hawkline Monkster
4. Paid In Full
5. I'm Movin'
6. Potato Boy
7. Tired'N'Wired
8. Wrong More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Roadburn Adds New Bands

Roadburn Festival is pleased to announce new additions to the 20th edition of the festival. The festival will take place April 9th - 12th in Tilburg, The Netherlands. Both day tickets and weekend tickets are currently on sale.

Roadburn 2015's curators - Wardruna's Einar “Kvitrafn” Selvik and Enslaved's Ivar Bjørnson - have almost completed the lineup for their event on Friday April 10th. Loop main man, Robert Hampson and Swedish psych heroes, Agusa will both perform alongside Focus, Death Hawks, Sólstafir and others.

BardSpec - the ambient project/band from Enslaved composer/guitarist Ivar - will also perform at the event. Einar will present a workshop which will delve into his approach to music and the extensive creative concept behind Wardruna's ongoing "Runaljod" trilogy as well as his approach and study of the runes and other Norse esoteric arts. He will demonstrate a selection of the oldest Nordic instruments, play fully acoustic Wardruna music, and there will also be time for questions from the audience. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss


Pit Stories: Don't Piss Off The Vocalist

With digital music readily available through services like Bandcamp and iTunes, heavy metal is now readily available everywhere from your phone to your computer, but that hasn't stopped the live show from being the heart of the scene. That's why every week we check in with musicians from across the globe to get their favorite stories from live performances.

As any regular show-goer knows, you shouldn't piss off the band unless you've got the balls to throw down or the numbers to back you up and out-shout the vocalist. From Dave Mustaine's infamous rants, Josh Homme from Queens of the Stone Age chucking things at audience members, and Bruce Dickinson's viral anti-pot tirade, many fans have made the mistake of ticking off a front man during a set.

Today Johnny Gorilla from The Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell shares this tale of his own back and forth with a crowd heckler:

We played in Scotland with Orange Goblin to a sold out King Tut's and this Russian guy calls me a cunt! He didn't remember meeting me the night before in a bar coz he was so pissed drunk. I stopped the gig and got the whole crowd to call him a cunt, by name. He looked like he was gonna cry.

Also a guy called "Scabby Dave" used to sit in front of us picking the scabs and eating them while we played! TASTY!!!

Admiral Sir Cloudsely Shovell's new album "Check 'em Before You Wreck 'em" was released earlier this month, and a music video off the album can be seen below.

Also be sure to check in next week for more Pit Stories, and let us know your favorite tale of a heckler getting called out during a set! More...

Read more...  |  15 Comments - Discuss

Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell Streaming New Album

Admiral Sir Cloudsely Shovell's new album "Check 'em Before You Wreck 'em" will be released tomorrow in North America via Rise Above Records.

Today the full release can be heard online in its entirety. Check out the album below, courtesy of Metal Injection. The track listing is as follows:

1. Do It Now
2. 2 Tonne F*ckboot
3. Captain Merryweather
4. Running From Home
5. Happiness Begins
6. Shaker Your Head
7. Don't Hear It ... Fear It!
8. Bulletproof
9. The Thicker The Better
10. Late Night Mornings More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell Posts New Video

After streaming the song "Do It Now" online, Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell just wrapped up work on a video for the song "The Thicker The Better."

Today the video is being exclusively premiered online courtesy of Revolvermag.com and can be seen below. The band's new LP "Check 'em Before You Wreck 'em" is due out on April 15th. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell Streaming New Track

Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell has teamed up with Noisey.Vice.com to stream the track "Do It Now." Check it out below. The following press release was also issued about the band:

"Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell are the last of a dying breed of Grease Rock Bastard musicians who somehow, despite and in spite of the last 3 decades trying their best to kill off balls out, non-bullshit rock'n'roll music, somehow, against all the fucking odds, still exist, surviving on a steady diet of God sent gigs, hire vans, broken down amps, split drum skins, greasy spoon fry ups, patched up jeans, roll-ups, cheap leather jackets, booze, weed and bathtub speed.

"Facts to face - the Shovell are named after a 17th century English naval commander; Bill Darlington plays drums, Louis Comfort-Wiggett plays bass and Johnny Gorilla plays guitar and sings, they have been together as a band since 2008.

"Their debut 2011 Rise Above 7", Return To Zero'/'Day After Day, sold out instantly and now commands £100 plus a copy; their 2012 debut long-player Don't Hear It...Fear It received unilateral rave reviews and was described pretty accurately by one scribe as 'the aural equivalent of stumbling into an 18 year-old male's bedsit in 1973 - the kind of greasy hard-rock thrills rarely heard in this climate of blind nostalgia and misjudged authenticity. It's hard 'n' heavy, without the marshmallow; it's old-fashioned yet so NOW that it hurts!!'

"They've toured and played with the likes of Orange Goblin, Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats, Incredible Hog, Gentlemans Pistols, Graveyard, Gonga and countless more, toured Europe and had chief Groundhog Tony McPhee playing on their first LP! More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell Streaming Album

U.K. jam band Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell is streaming its entire new debut full-length over at YouTube. The album, "Don't Hear It....Fear It!," amplifies on last year's EP and drives home that 70's sound in an incredible way, possibly taking pointers from Budgie by looking at the cover. The group named itself after the famous British naval officer from the 17th century. Below is an upload of the first track from the release, "Mark of the Beast." The band will be playing at the first ever Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats live London dates, the 23rd added after the 22nd sold out.

Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats + Sir Cloudesley Shovell
Saturday, March 23, 2013 at 7:00pm in UTC at The Garage London

0 Comments - Discuss