"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Holy Dragons

From: Kazakstan
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Holy Dragons News

Below is our complete Holy Dragons news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Holy Dragons Announces New Album

Kazakhstan’s ultimate metal band Holy Dragons returns with a FOURTEENTH album, two years after previous offering "Dragon Inferno." If you missed it, a look back at the group's illustrious history was also covered in our Sunday Old School series.

“Civilizator” can best be described as an overview of the band’s stylistic evolution during its 20-year history, showcasing the various dimensions of the band’s sound. This is pure classic old school heavy metal with the influence of the British and German schools of metal being clearly evident.

The new album “Civilizator” will be out this coming April 15th on CD and digital through Pitch Black Records. Pre-orders are online here and the track listing is as follows:

1. Civilizator
2. Singularity
3. Through the Walls of Lies
4. Bat Bomb
5. My Fear (Litany)
6. Secret Friend
7. No Oil – No War
8. The Long Earth
9. Blossoming Sakura
10. Hawker Hurricane
11. Emptiness (The Void)
12. Stop the War More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss


Sunday Old School: Holy Dragons

Over the course of the Sunday Old School series, we’ve examined veteran metal bands from all across the world. From Aria in Russia, to Septicflesh and Rotting Christ of Greece, to Austria’s Belphegor, a Chilean band called Pentagram and another band called Pentagram (or Mezarkabul, if you prefer,) from Turkey. Speaking of Turkey, did you know that Turks are part of a larger group of people classified as Turkic? Another ethnicity that’s a member of this collective is the Kazakhs. In case you haven’t put two and two together yet, this week we’ll be expanding our map by taking a look at a metal band from Kazakhstan for the first time and their name is Holy Dragons.

The band was formed in 1992 in the then capital city of Almaty, (it was replaced as capital in 1997 by Astana,) by guitarist, Jurgen Thunderson, who was joined initially in his endeavour by singer Oleg "Holger" Komaroff. They set out to bring make music like that of their heavy metal heroes such as Judas Priest and Iron Maiden and in doing so, became one of, if not the first metal band Kazakhstan had produced. Keeping a stable lineup proved to be something of a difficult task, with Thunderson remaining the sole constant member. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Holy Dragons To Release New Album

Kazakhstan’s Holy Dragons will return next month with new album "Dragon Inferno," the follow-up to 2012’s "Zerstörer."

The album features new vocalist Alexander "Demoraivola" Kuligin, and according to a press release, "while the 80s influence is evident in the band’s style, the album delivers a fresh sounding blend of heavy, power and speed metal."

“Dragon Inferno” is due out on October 13th (U.K.), October 17th (Europe) and November 11th (U.S.) on Pitch Black Records. The track listing is as follows:

1. Gunship From Hell
2. Hollow Man
3. Old School Space Battles
4. Majestic 12
5. Downshift Waltz
6. Panic in F.B.I.
7. Three Ways of Genocide
8. Ride, Cowboy, Ride
9. Unlicensed Sky Driver
10. My Cargo Cult
11. Dragon Inferno More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Holy Dragons Announces Record Deal

Holy Dragons has inked a new deal with Pitch Black Records. The label issued the following press release:

"Holy Dragons hail from Kazakhstan and their blend of metal ranges from heavy metal to power and speed metal with some killer 'Halford-esque' vocals. The band was formed in 1992 and they have a large number of releases since then, including albums, singles and EPs. 'Zerstörer' is the first album to feature new vocalist Ian Breeg and it will be released on November 6th 2012, again available through Pitch Black Records and its distribution partners as well as through major mp3 stores."

The album's track listing is as follows:

1. Voices of Lie
2. Doomsday Angels
3. The Man Who Saved the World / Crush Of Chrome Dome
4. Project A119
5. M.A.D. Mutual Assured Destruction / AN602 – Wind Of Hate
6. Cuban Crisis / Insomnia
7. F.R.A.G.I.L.E.
8. NORAD Alert
9. The Day After
10. HL 7442
11. DEFCON 1 / Zerstörer More...

Read more...  |  1 Comment - Discuss