"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: Athens, GA
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Woccon News

Below is our complete Woccon news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Woccon Issues Album Update

U.S. group Woccon just issued the following announcement about working on a follow-up to the 2014 "Solace In Decay" album:

"If all goes to plan, 2017 is the year for the new full-length album. I've been chipping away at it since the release of 'Solace In Decay.' Lots of music written and recorded. Lots of music in the trash.

"Attention to detail is higher than its ever been, thus the reason for the long process. Thanks for being patient! I promise it will be more than an OK album. Haha." More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Hypnotic Dirge Records Offering Free Compilation

Hypnotic Dirge Records is today presenting a new free digital download compilation album, titled "Subarctic Nocturnes: Doomed to Be [Volume 1]." The label comments:

"This year, we are releasing something more comprehensive than ever before, with a compilation trilogy series which will have a different genre focus on each volume and which we will release over the course of the next few months. We are extremely pleased to unveil the first album in this series now, with a focus on all things doom!

"Within this volume, you will find a collection of amazing artists at the forefront of the global doom scene, both Hypnotic Dirge bands and guests from other bands around the world. The selections on this release were carefully chosen to show some of our favourite bands including doom veterans and newcomers alike. Melodic Death-Doom, Gothic Doom, and Sludge Doom can all be found within this compilation so it is quite diverse and hopefully shows a careful balance between all these sounds."

Download at this location or stream all the songs below. The full track listing is:

1. Altars of Grief - The Plague that Haunts the Darkness
2. Orphans of Dusk - Nibelheim
3. Norilsk - Plan├Ęte heurt
4. Psychotic Gardening - Searing Cital
5. Lavagoat - Ageless Nonsense
6. Nethermost - Weald Reams
7. Lycanthia - The Harbinger
8. Evadne - Colossus
9. Human Collapse - Deep
10. Enshine - Above Us
11. Atten Ash - The Hourglass
12. Woccon - Wandering More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Woccon Signs With Deathbound Records

Deathbound Records has issued the following announcement about inking a deal with U.S. act Woccon:

"After months of hard work we are extremely proud to welcome Woccon to our roster. Founded in Athens, Georgia by multi-instrumentalist, Tim Rowland (Sholfrost, ex-Peregrine), Woccon released an EP in the summer of 2011 titles, Through Ancestral Fires, which featured guest vocals by Ryan Morgan of Misery Signals.

"After self-releasing the EP Tim was joined by guitarist Tiler Kuykendall and drummer Wade Jones, to embark on a new musical direction in which they all shared influences and visions.

"From blackened death metal to melodic doom, The Wither Fields will be available as a limited physical release through Deathbound Records. Copies will be numbered and include two bonus tracks. The album will also be available digitally through all digital outlets."

Hear music from the band and find more info on Woccon over at Facebook here.

0 Comments - Discuss

Woccon Streaming Second EP

Athens, Georgia doom/death band Woccon recently issued its second EP "The Wither Fields," which has made its way over to YouTube as a series of four uploads. Below is the track "Failing Devotion," which features Lili Le Bullet of Drakkara. Before releasing "The Wither Fields," Woccon was the project of multi-instrumentalist Tim Rowland (Sholfrost, ex-Peregrine), who released "Through Ancestral Fires," which featured guest vocals by Ryan Morgan of Misery Signals. On this EP, both guitarist Tiler Kuykendall and drummer Wade Jones entered the band to embark on a more melodic direction of doom death.

0 Comments - Discuss