"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise


Ectovoid Photo

Band Photo: Ectovoid (?)

From: Birmingham, AL
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Ectovoid News

Below is our complete Ectovoid news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Ectovoid Releasing "Dark Abstraction" Vinyl

Blood Harvest Records is proud to present a special vinyl pressing of Ectovoid's debut album, "Dark Abstraction," set for international release on March 28th.

Originally released last year on CD by Hellthrasher Productions, "Dark Abstraction" introduced a sound both strangely fresh yet impossibly ancient.

With a moniker that gives more than a few clues into the sound, Ectovoid recombine a whole host of eldritch influences - namely, very early Immolation and Incantation as well as Scandinavian death metal from the early '90s.

1. Obscure Altars
2. Visions of Reflective Decay
3. Mental Netherworlds
4. Precipice of Absolute Chaos
5. Rituals of Hallucination
6. The Expanse Between Slumber and Death
7. A Prisoner of Paradox
8. Spawned from Unending Mystery More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Hellthrasher Productions Offering Free Sampler

Hellthrasher Productions has posted a new black/death metal sampler online featuring highlights from all the label's 2015 release (one track from each album).

The compilation is available as a free/name-your-price download exclusively from Bandcamp here.

The track listing is as follows: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss


Ectovoid Premieres New 4-Way Split Track

Following the "Dark Abstraction" album earlier this year, Alabama death metal outfit Ectovoid's next official release comes in the form of a stunning four-way split release. While splits are part and parcel to the metal underground, this one's a rarity in that it's also a full-length album composed of 10 separate tracks.

"4 Doors To Death" isn't officially dropping until January, but we're now bringing you some dark and dirty death metal ahead of time with an exclusive stream of "Possessed By Ancient Dread," the second of two offerings from Ectovoid and fifth track overall on the split release.

Each band on "4 Doors To Death" has their own individual cover image, with the full Ectovoid cover art also revealed in the player below along with the song stream (check out the overall cover artwork here).

Ectovoid was initially formed in 2010, recording a first demo titled "Breathing Blackness" in January of 2011 and releasing it later that March. It wasn't until later in 2012 that debut full-length album "Fractured In the Timeless Abyss" was unleashed through Hellthrasher Productions, followed by second album "Dark Abstraction" earlier this summer. If you like what you hear below and want more Ectovoid, be sure to check out a track from that previous album at this location. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

"4 Doors To Death" Split Album Announced

Split releases have been part of the DNA of death metal almost from the beginning, but split full-length albums are a rare breed, and have been fewer and farther between after the initial heyday of the genre.

In a conscious throwback to that era, Unspeakable Axe Records is proud to announce the January 22, 2016 release of "4 Doors To Death," featuring young and hungry bands Cemetery Filth (Tennessee/Georgia), Ectovoid (Alabama), Sabbatory (Winnipeg, Canada) and Trenchrot (Philadelphia).

The fearsome foursome have combined forces to produce 10 tracks of ugly and vicious death metal, the way it was originally meant to be played. The CD will feature separate booklets for each band, complete with band pics, lyrics, and distinctive cover artworks.

1. Consumption of Volition [Cemetery Filth]
2. Dagonian Dialect...The Obelisk U [Cemetery Filth]
3. Cosmic Wraiths [Cemetery Filth]
4. Ash Primordial [Ectovoid]
5. Possess by Ancient Dread [Ectovoid]
6. Ascension to my Holy Tomb [Sabbatory]
7. Primordial [Sabbatory]
8. Hell Pilot's Call [TrenchRot]
9. Powerful Kandarian Steel [TrenchRot]
10. Evil Dead [TrenchRot]*

* Death Cover More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Ectovoid Posts New Track "Mental Netherworlds"

Ectovoid premieres a new track titled "Mental Netherworlds" taken from the new full-length release "Dark Abstraction", care of Hellthrasher Productions. "Dark Abstraction" was recorded and mixed by Joshua Freemon at Dead Sound Studios and mastered by Damian Herring (Horrendous) at Subterranean Watchtower Studios.

Check out now "Mental Netherworlds" below.

0 Comments - Discuss

Ectovoid Streaming New Track

Ectovoid today reveals a full track from the band's upcoming second album "Dark Abstraction," due out soon via Hellthrasher Productions. Check out "The Expanse Between Slumber and Death" below.

"Dark Abstraction" was recorded and mixed by Joshua Freemon at Dead Sound Studios, with mastering handled by Damian Herring (Horrendous) at Subterranean Watchtower Studios.

0 Comments - Discuss

MetalRecusants Releases Free Compilation

Today sees the release of the first ever MetalRecusants digital compilation titled "Chants of Death: Vol. 1." The compilation is completely free to stream or download at Bandcamp or in the player below. Artwork was designed by MetalRecusants reviewer Ricardo Esparza. The track listing is as follows:

1. Masachist - Drilling the Nerves
2. Corpse Garden - Burnt by the Light
3. Gortal - Crimens Sollicitationis
4. Nephelium - Burial Ground
5. De Profundis -Dead Inside
6. Decaying - Code Name Overlord
7. Sphere - Homo Hereticus
8. Praesepe – Weakness
9. Haiduk - Black Wind
10. Embrional - The Last Step Into Nothingness
11. Tyrants Blood - Spiral Sea
12. Deivos - Absolute of Hatred
13. Annihilation - Sacrifice of Existence
14. Dismanibus - Blood From A Stone
15. Into Darkness - Levy 9's Death
16. Blood Mortized -Unleashing the Hounds
17. Desolator - Infernal Gathering
18. Just Before Dawn - As Death Breaks the Surface
19. Dormant Ordeal - The Animal
20. Auroch - Slaves to a Flame Undying
21. Resurgency - Craniums of Slain Disciples
22. Engulfed - Supreme Lord of Blasphemy
23. Ectovoid - Splintered Phantasm More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Ectovoid Releases Vinyl Version Of Album

Sweden's Blood Harvest Records has just released the limited edition vinyl 12" LP version of Ectovoid's "Fractured in the Timeless Abyss." Limited to 300 copies, "Fractured in the Timeless Abyss" is the debut full-length from the Birmingham, AL trio. Lyrical themes are centered around afflictions of the mind and soul and the terrors that await mankind beyond the veils of death, space and time. Cover art for the nine-track album was done by Christina Casperson (Nocturnal Blood/Dawnbringer, etc.). Stream "Fractured in the Timeless Abyss" in full at the Blood Harvest Records bandcamp page.


0 Comments - Discuss

Ectovoid Streaming Album

Alabama extreme metallers Ectovoid are streaming their entire nine-song debut album "Fractured in the Timeless Abyss" over on Bandcamp. The Birmingham trio just released the album on Hellthrasher Productions. The vinyl version will be put out on Blood Harvest Records. Ectovoid first hit the scene in March of 2011 with its self-released demo "Breathing Blackness."

0 Comments - Discuss