"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: San Francisco, CA
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Botanist News

Below is our complete Botanist news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Botanist Releasing Split With Palace Of Worms

San Francisco's Botanist and Palace of Worms are teaming up to release a split album via fellow San Franciscan experimental metal label, The Flenser.

Featuring three tracks from each band that were mixed and mastered by Jack Shirley at The Atomic Garden, this six-song split album is now available on digital and vinyl formats. You can stream the songs below, and the track listing is as follows:

1. Botanist - Tillandsia 05:34
2. Botanist - Senecio 05:13
3. Botanist - Trandescantia Pallida 05:27
4. Palace of Worms - Ode to Joy (Hurrah, the End Draws Nigh) 06:56
5. Palace of Worms - King Leech 07:11
6. Palace of Worms - Twilight of the Idols (for R.B.) 06:02 More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Botanist Streaming Track From New Album

Botanist, the unconventional one-man black metal band featuring vocals, drums, and hammered dulcimer instrumentation, is gearing up to release its fourth album, "IV: Mandragora," on February 19th from experimental metal label The Flenser.

Check out the exclusive premiere of Botanist’s “Mandrake Legion (Mandagora V)” over at Pitchfork.com here. The following press release was also issued about the album:

"Combining lyrical creativity and musical ingenuity, IV: Mandragora is a concept record on the alchemical creation of a mandrake, and how The Botanist is instructed on raising an army of mandrakes to wipe out humanity. The songs of Botanist are told from the perspective of The Botanist, a crazed man of science who lives in self-imposed exile, as far away from Humanity and its crimes against Nature as possible. In his sanctuary of fantasy and wonder, which he calls the Verdant Realm, he surrounds himself with plants and flowers, finding solace in the company of the Natural world, and envisioning the destruction of man. There, seated upon his throne of Veltheimia, The Botanist awaits the day when humans will either die or kill each other off, which will allow plants to make the Earth green once again."

Pre-orders for the CD edition of "IV: Mandragora" are available right here, with a vinyl release coming shortly.

0 Comments - Discuss

Botanist Streaming Entire New Album

Tripidelic San Francisco band Botanist, who describes its music as drum and dulcimer driven eco-terrorist black metal, has just released its second full-length album "III: Doom In Bloom/Allies" and is streaming it over on Bandcamp. That page also has a link to Botanist's first album as well. The CD version of "III: Doom In Bloom/Allies" comes with a 12-page booklet and art done by surreal artist M.S. Waldron. Stream all fourteen tracks below in the player.

0 Comments - Discuss