"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Sacred Gate

From: Germany
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Sacred Gate News

Below is our complete Sacred Gate news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Sacred Gate Releases New Album

Metal On Metal Records just released the 3rd full-length album from German traditional heavy metal band Sacred Gate, titled "Countdown to Armageddon."

It features new singer Ron Slaets from Holland, whom the band found at the end of last year. Check out the revamped sound with a stream of three songs below. The full "Countdown to Armageddon" track listing is as follows:

1. The End Begins
2. Angel of Darkness
3. Legions of the North
4. The Flames of War
5. Hell Riders
6. Under the Normandy Sky
7. Sacred Gate
8. Mankind's Fall
9. The Oath of the Damned
10. Countdown to Armageddon
11. Made of Iron [bonus track] More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Sacred Gate Recruits New Vocalist

After the departure of Jim Over in the Fall of 2014, Sacred Gate no longer had a singer, forcing two shows to be cancelled in The Netherlands, which would have been the band's first performances outside of Germany. Today the band reveals new vocalist Ron Slaets, commenting:

"After six months of intensive search, a lot of applications and auditions, Sacred Gate has found in Ron Slaets the replacement of Jim Over. Ron (31 of age and from Roermond, The Netherlands) is a passionate and very talented singer, who has the same style of singing as Jim has, but Ron can reach some higher notes too.

"The band is convinced that we can continue making music on a high level with Ron and we all have started working on material for the third album." More...

Read more...  |  1 Comment - Discuss

Sacred Gate Releasing New Album

"Tides of War," the second full-length from the German traditional heavy metal act Sacred Gate is being released this month through Metal on Metal Records.

The band created a concept album about the Battle of Thermopylae, where 300 Spartans and their allies fought for freedom against invading Persians. Not a surprising choice of subject, considering that two founding members (vocalist Jim Over and guitarist Nicko Nikolaidis) have Greek origins.

According to the label, "The new album is undoubtedly a more mature, more epic and more confident effort that shows the band moving a few steps away from their main influence (Iron Maiden), and crystallizing their own style, with strong, melodic but rough vocals, outstanding guitar work and rock solid rhythm section."

Three songs off the album, "Defenders (Valour Is in Our Blood)", "Gates of Fire" and "Spartan Killing Machine" are available for streaming at the Metal on Metal website. A promo clip is also available below. The "Tides of War" track listing is:

1. The Coming Storm
2. The Immortal One
3. Tides of War
4. Defenders (Valour Is in Our Blood)
5. Gates of Fire
6. Never to Return
7. The Final March
8. Spartan Killing Machine
9. Path to Glory
10. The Battle of Thermopylae More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Sacred Gate Recording New Album

German traditional heavy metal act Sacred Gate is in the process of recording of the follow-up to the band's debut "When Eternity Ends," which was released in April this year through Metal on Metal Records.

According to a press release, Sacred Gate's sophomore album "Tides of War" is going to be a concept album about the 300 Spartans and the battle of Thermopylae in 480 BC. The album will be produced by the band and Andy Funke at Metallurgy Studio in Mönchengladbach, Germany.

For more info on Sacred Gate, head over to the Metal on Metal Records website.

0 Comments - Discuss

Sacred Gate Signs With Metal On Metal

Metal on Metal Records has issued the following announcement about inking a deal with Sacred Gate:

"Sacred Gate is a traditional heavy metal band from Mönchengladbach, Germany, formed in 2008. The skills they presented on the album, which they were shopping around, were so impressive that they soon scored a deal with Metal On Metal Records known for its good 'nose' for finding quality old school metal bands.

"The band’s founding members, guitarist and composer Nicko Nikolaidis and vocalist Jim Over (both of Greek origin), have mastered their craft in other bands prior to Sacred Gate. They both played together in Made of Iron which was originally an Iron Maiden cover band, before starting to write their own songs and releasing a couple of demos, EP and a full-length as Made of Iron and an EP 'Creators Of The Downfall' as Sacred Gate in 2011. And the British giants still have the biggest influence on Sacred Gate’s music, which is rooted in NWOBHM, but also has some ’80s US Power Metal elements.

"Find out more about the band, watch some promo and live photos, and check the links to their pages from Sacred Gate page on the Metal On Metal Records website."

The debut full-length CD from Sacred Gate, titled "When Eternity Ends," was released on April 27th. Check out a promo clip below. The album's track list is as follows:

1. Creators Of The Downfall
2. Burning Wings
3. The Realm Of Hell
4. When Eternity Ends
5. Freedom Or Death
6. In The Heart Of The Iron Maiden
7. Vengeance
8. Earth, My Kingdom
9. Heaven Under Siege More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss