"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: Canada
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Soulstorm News

Below is our complete Soulstorm news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Soulstorm Releases Covers Album

The early 90s saw some exciting innovations within extreme music, and Toronto's Soulstorm was at the forefront of some genre-defining and defying times.

Band mainman, Nick Sagias, having disbanded Overthrow - as well as honing his chops within the ranks of the mighty Pestilence - threw caution to the wind and helped pioneer a musical movement that fused death metal with industrial overtones, sounding like a cross between Ministry, Swans, Godflesh, Celtic Frost and Obituary.

Soulstorm has now returned with "Devils Music (Part 1)," a precursor to a forthcoming all original full-length, paying tribute to many of the bands that have influenced Soulstorm through the course of its storied career. "Devil's Music (Part 1)" includes covers from Celtic Frost, Godflesh, Swans, Ministry, Paradise Lost and many more. You can stream the album below, and the track listing is as follows:

1. Return To The Eve (Celtic Frost)
2. Cold World (Godflesh)
3. Eternal (Paradise Lost)
4. Stay Here (Swans)
5. Yu Gung (Einstuerzende Neubauten)
6. Breathe (Ministry)
7. Inflammator (Pitchshifter)
8. Primal (2015)
9. Nothingness (Dub)
10. Endless Human Failure (Dub)
11. Stranglehold (Dub)
12. Pulp (Bonus Track)
13. Stranglehold (Erosion Cycle Noise Mix - Bonus Track) More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Soulstorm Streaming New Album's Title Track

Canadian act Soulstorm has posted the title track online from the band's new album "Fall of the Rebel Angels," which can be heard below. The following press release was also issued about the album:

"Soulstorm's new CD titled 'Fall Of The Rebel Angels' contains 10 new tracks that will fill the void for dark and bleak music missing from today's scene as one of the original Death Metal and Industrial hybrid terror units, combining the brutality of classic Death Metal with the eerie coldness of Godflesh inspired industrial madness. Foreboding rhythms, gloomy, abrasive, and most importantly an immersive listen comparable to bands like Godflesh, Swans, Obituary and Celtic Frost. The track 'The Nihilism Quotient' also features quest vocals by Rob Urbinati of Sacrifice fame."

The track listing is:

01. Soulless
02. Interwoven
03. Fall Of The Rebel Angels
04. Kingdom Of Rats
05. Control.Suppress.Deny
06. Descent Into Desolation
07. The Nihilism Quotient (ft. Rob Urbinati of Sacrifice)
08. Plague Of The North Winds
09. Residual Traces
10. Catalyst Rising
11. Return To The Eve (Live) Celtic Frost Cover More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Soulstorm To Release "Complete Sessions"

NHR Records is proud to announce the imminent re-release of one of the original death metal and industrial hybrid terror units, Soulstorm. The label commented:

"Combining the brutality of classic Death Metal with the eerie coldness of Godflesh inspired industrial madness, Soulstorm's Darkness Visible and their Control debut EP are here combined in a massive definitive edition of their 'Complete Sessions' with full liner notes, photos, and bonus tracks outlining the earliest beginnings of one of Canada's foremost Industrial Metal pioneers. Re-released, Remastered, Reborn: Soulstorm. For fans of Godflesh, Swans, Obituary and Celtic Frost."

The cover artwork is available here and the track listing is as follows:

"Darkness Visible"
Degeneration Mode
Endless Human Failure
Empty Mental Room
Helpless To Habit
Control (Original) *Unreleased
Disruption (Alt Vocal Mix) *Unreleased

Degeneration Mode
Helpless To Habit
Endless Human Failure *Unreleased
Burning *Unreleased More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss