"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Flying Colors

From: United States
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Flying Colors News

Below is our complete Flying Colors news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Flying Colors Posts "Bombs Away" Video

Flying Colors - the rock group featuring drummer Michael Portnoy (Dream Theater), guitarist Steve Morse (Deep Purple), vocalist Casey McPherson (Alpha Rev), keyboardist Neal Morse and bassist Dave LaRue - will release "Second Flight: Live At The Z7" on November 13, 2015 on Blu-ray/DVD.

Check out footage of the track "Bombs Away" below. Neal Morse comments: "Bombs Away: I love the guitar work in this one. Steve really nails it. This also has a really cool proggy string melody section that I can never get out of my head...in a good way. The only other thing I have to say about this song can be summed up in one word: CHEESEWHIZ.” More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Flying Colors Announces Live Release

Mascot Label Group is proud to announce the release of "Flying Colors - Live In Europe" via the Music Theories Recordings Label on Blu-ray, DVD, 2CD, Limited Edition 3LP Vinyl, and digital download (iTunes, Mastered for iTunes, Amazon MP3).

The release date is set for October 14th, 2013 (Europe) and October 15th, 2013 (USA/Rest of world). Flying Colors features Mike Portnoy (drums, vocals), Dave LaRue (bass), Neal Morse (keyboards, vocals), Casey McPherson (vocals, guitars), and Steve Morse (guitars).

The concert release captures the band live in Tilburg, Netherlands at 013 on September 20th, 2012. Directed and edited by Bernhard Baran (Guns 'n' Roses, The Cure, Porcupine Tree) with Bill Evans as executive producer, the concert presents the entire studio album, alongside popular favorites performed by the band.

You can pre-order the new live album on DVD, Blu-ray, 2 CD, 3 LP (limited edition on clear vinyl), or as a bundle with an exclusive t-shirt that's not available anywhere More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Mike Portnoy Comments On New Album

While the band name Flying Colors might be unfamiliar to you, the members of this rock supergroup have individually sold millions of records and have a strong fan base around the world. Flying Colors' self-titled debut album is available now through Music Theories/Mascot Label Group/MRI.

The members of Flying Colors are drummer Michael Portnoy (Dream Theater), guitarist Steve Morse (Deep Purple), vocalist Casey McPherson (Alpha Rev), keyboardist Neal Morse and bassit Dave LaRue. Flying Colors marks Portnoy's first project since he departed Dream Theater.

The seeds of Flying Colors' formation were sown in 2008, when executive producer Bill Evans brought the idea to each of the musicians as well as to producer Peter Collins. Intrigued by the idea of working together, the four musicians wrote and recorded this album in just nine days.

Portnoy says "This album has bits and pieces of what you'd expect from each of us. The sum of all it's parts led to brand new, uncharted territory for everyone involved."

Dave LaRue says "It was quite an experience. The band moved at a fast pace, ideas flying around the room at all times. Sections of tunes were arranged, then rearranged. Ideas were tried every which way until we made them work, or in some cases, discarded them altogether. Just keeping track of everything was a challenge! It's been an inspiring challenge melding folk, prog, pop and metal all into one big recording." More...

Read more...  |  1 Comment - Discuss