"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: United States
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Loincloth News

Below is our complete Loincloth news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Loincloth Issues "Bestial Infernal" Music Video

Virginia/North Carolina-based cult Loincloth issued a video clip for the song "Bestial Infernal." The song appears on the band's new and final album "Psalm Of The Morbid Whore," which is available now via Southern Lord Recordings.

Check out the clip here:

0 Comments - Discuss

Headline News

Loincloth Announces Final Album

Virginia/North Carolina-based cult Loincloth has issued a trailer for the recently completed "Psalm Of The Morbid Whore" LP. This marks the group's second and final full-length release, again via Southern Lord Recordings.

Packing nine new passages into a half-hour assault on "Psalm Of The Morbid Whore," Loincloth returned to Pershing Hill Sound in Raleigh, North Carolina to record with Greg Elkins, while mastering was helmed by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege.

Issues the group: "Loincloth is no longer a live band, so this record is our final offering not only to the great horned one below, but to the committed ladies and gentlemen of the Cloth."

"Psalm Of The Morbid Whore" will see digital and vinyl release through Southern Lord on September 29th. The full track listing is as follows:

1. Necro Fucking Satanae
2. Poroths
3. Clausa Vulgate
4. Morbid Whore
5. Pentacost Dissident
6. Bestial Infernal
7. Sigil Ov Five Horns
8. Let the Snakes Decide
9. Ibex (To Burn in Hell Is To Refine) More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Loincloth Streaming Entire Album Online

Just one week before being released into the general population via Southern Lord, today Pitchfork is streaming Loincloth's debut LP, "Iron Balls Of Steel," in its entirety. Check out all sixteen blistering tracks of the outfit's quirky, instrumental, tech-metal molestation right here. The band also issued the following press release:

"Compressing nearly forty minutes of mathematical mayhem onto the album, Iron Balls Of Steel -- Loincloth's first output since 2003 -- will hit the streets on January 17th via Southern Lord, on CD, LP and digital download formats.

"A power trio comprised of guitarists Cary Rowells (Confessor) and Tannon Penland (Koszonom), and drummer Steve Shelton (Confessor), LOINCLOTH steer clear of cliché formulas, and choosing instead to carve its name out sheer force of will.

"Coalescing endless, technical riffing and a thoroughly devastating rhythm section with seamless precision, never once incorporating acoustic parts, pointless leads, repetition or vocals, the album fully energetic and driving, mashing out riffs at their fullest and remaining innovative the whole time, without attempting to be a 'progressive' act."

0 Comments - Discuss

Loincloth Streaming New Track

Recent Southern Lord Records signees, face-ripping instrumental power trio Loincloth, today unleash another brand new track, titled "Theme," via Cvlt Nation. Borrowed from the band's upcoming full-length, "Iron Balls of Steel," while in actuality the track is only two-and-a-half minutes in length, the band jam a barrage of well-sequenced tech-riffage and pummeling percussion into the track, yielding an entire EP's worth of damage in the one tune alone. Check out "Theme" at this location.

In early November BrooklynVegan premiered two tracks from the record which are still active as well; crank up "Underwear Bomb" and "Sactopus" here.

A thunderous power trio comprised of guitarists Cary Rowells (Confessor) and Tannon Penland (Koszonom), and drummer Steve Shelton (Confessor), Loincloth's first output since 2003 will hit the streets on January 17th via Southern Lord, in the form of their first LP, "Iron Balls of Steel." For more on the band, head over to the Loincloth Facebook profile here.

0 Comments - Discuss