"some music was meant to stay underground..."


Formed: 1991
From: Vancouver, Canada
Last Known Status: Active


Empyria hails from Vancouver, B.C. Canada and was formed in 1991 by Mike Kischnick (guitars/guitar synth) and Paul Falcon (bass/vocals). In mid-1992 Simon Adam (drums) completed the Empyria line-up.

After numerous gigs & demos Empyria headed into Greenhouse studios in Burnaby, B.C. to record "Behind Closed Doors," which was released in March 1996 on T&T/Noise Records and received excellent reviews and an 8 out of 10 in the "Collectors Guide To Heavy Metal" written by Martin Popoff. Empyria continued playing gigs to follow up this release but by mid-1997 Paul decided to leave the band to pursue other interests.

Philip Leite (Osiris/Masterpiece) replaced Paul on vocals in late 1997. His higher vocal range brought a new sound to the band, and the addition of Ken Firomski (Iron Gypsy/Uncle Sid) on bass added a much more aggressive approach to the rhythm section. Now that the line up was complete, in December of 1997 Empyria started to record their second release "Changing Currents".

The name "Empyria" was derived from the word empyrean pertaining to the purest place in heaven or the place of pure fire in hell. Using this in a musical context our music ranges from heavy to melodic with a definite progressive edge. Our influences range from progressive rock/metal bands to jazz & classical artists and we are always trying to combine musicianship with good song writing.

In August 1999, Empyria began recording the "Legacy" EP, released Nov/2000. The EP contains all four parts, including the previously unreleased "The Legacy (of Final Darkness)" as one continuous 25 minute journey. Also, Empyria recorded their first cover tune, "Synchronicity II" by the Police, and put their own twist on the classic. August 2000, Empyria went back into the studio to record their fourth full length CD called "Sense of Mind," released in 2002.

Latest Empyria News

Below is our complete Empyria news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Empyria Completes New Album

Vancouver based metallers, EMPYRIA, have completed their upcoming album, "The Long Road Home," and a release date should be announced soon.

The tracklisting for "The Long Road Home" is as follows:

01. Intro
02. The Endless Circle
03. False Witness
04. No Other Way
05. Lonely People
06. Last Rites
07. Can't Wait Forever
08. Of All The Dreams
09. Without Within
10. Walk Away
11. Of All The Dreams
12. Solitude (Inst.)
13. Returning Home

0 Comments - Discuss

Empyria To Release New Album In 2008?

Guitarist Mike Kischnick, original bassist/vocalist Paul Falcon and new drummer Scott Gamble are currently recording 11 new tracks for a possible new EMPYRIA album that may see the light of day in 2008. Sharing vocal duties will be both Empyria singers Phil Leite and Paul Falcon. More news as it develops.

0 Comments - Discuss