"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Clockwork Spirit

From: Finland
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Clockwork Spirit News

Below is our complete Clockwork Spirit news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.


Unearthing The Heavily Atmospheric Underground

Monday means it’s time to expand your metallic horizons again as we delve into the underground metal scene and dig up three bands you might not had a chance to check out yet, but which all deserve to be heard by a wider audience. This week we’re looking at heavily atmospheric groups that incorporate specific sonic elements to create an undeniable mood throughout the music. In this instance by “atmospheric” we’re not necessarily referring to ambient or even symphonic bands (although these acts do have some symphonic sounds), but rather to bands that have a clearly present atmosphere in addition to being extreme metal.

Porta Nigra

This out-of-nowhere band just signed on with Debemur Morti Productions to release an upcoming album titled “Fin De Siècle.” The vocalist’s weird, screechy screams almost would have qualified this act for our previous look at unearthing bands with bizarre vocals, and those screams are put to good use to foster a specific tone and mood.

The abrasive, off-the-wall screams mixed with the atmospheric clean singing and mid-paced guitar riffs draws all ears in, and basically forces attention as the music builds and becomes more frantic. The video for “Megalomanic,” available below, embodies the depressive black metal ideal, creating a sort of unhinged and demented sound, while vaguely giving the impression of being utterly alone in the middle of nowhere.


Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Amarantine Changes Name To Clockwork Spirit

Helsinki based metal act Amarantine has changed it's name to Clockwork Spirit to coincide with the release of the upcoming self-titled debut album on October 28th, 2011. The album will be distributed by German label Dance Macabre Records and will initially be available around Europe. A teaser for the album, featuring samples of all eight tracks, is available below. The track listing is as follows:

1. Descent
2. Requiem
3. Wall of Sleep
4. Daemon Speculum
5. On Unravelling the Essence
6. Dawn of Deliverance
7. In Faerytales Mingled
8. Shades of Decay

0 Comments - Discuss