"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Red Circuit

Formed: 2006
From: Wiesbaden, Germany
Last Known Status: Active


RED CIRCUIT from the Mainz/Wiesbaden area are anything but copycats sailing in the airstream of the likes of DREAM THEATER and Co. hoping to take advantage of their fame. Behind the name RED CIRCUIT there are musicians with many years of experience, putting their own musical visions into practise. Their second album, "Homeland" shows the quintett earthier, more explosive and more riff-oriented than on its predecessor which was more a mixture of multi-layered rhythms, deeply melodic vocals, atmospheric surroundings and clearly more electronic frivolity.

The band, formed in 2006 is led by Markus Teske (keyboards, ex-Sheela), who has won an excellent reputation as producer and sound engineer for Symphony X, Neal Morse, Ian Parry's Consortium Project, Saga and Vanden Plas. Together with the exceptional singer Chity Somapala (ex-Firewind, ex-Avalon, Faro, Civilization One,....), Chris Moser (guitar), Thomas Schmitt (bass) and Andy Klein (drums), RED CIRCUIT re-formed their ranks in 2009 in order to give free rein to their urge for creativity.

Markus Teske and his friend Andy Kuntz (Vanden Plas, Abydos) have composed, written and produced ten new songs in his own Bazement Studio in Hunstetten near Frankfurt. Andy Kuntz is an important factor in the musical cosmos of the RED CIRCUIT sound. His input on "Homeland" does not only include second vocals but also vocal effects and other performance additions which give the songs a final polish. The addition of drummer Andy Klein and guitarist Chris Moser (ex-Sheela) has shifted the musical focal point more towards riff-oriented song structures without fundamentally changing the symphonic-epic influences of the debut album.


Latest Red Circuit News

Below is our complete Red Circuit news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Red Circuit Posts Peter Gabriel Cover

Prog Power USA alumni Red Circuit has a video online now for a cover of Peter Gabriel's "Digging In The Dirt" (taken from the "Us" album).

Red Circuit's edition can be seen in the player below, and is also included on the band's 2014 album "Haze of Nemesis."

0 Comments - Discuss

Red Circuit Releases Preview Clip For New Album

German progressive/power metal act Red Circuit, featuring Civilization One/ex-Firewind vocalist Chitral Chity Somapala, announced that the band's upcoming third studio album will be entitled "Haze of Nemesis" and is expected to be released on October 24, 2014 via Limb Music/Soulfood. A preview clip for the album can be viewed/heard in the player below.

Along with the studio album, also included is a DVD featuring the band's full performance at ProgPower USA XII in 2011. As an additional bonus, the band will include the video for the opening track "Oceans Apart" on the DVD, which was shot during the band's performance in Sri Lanka in February 2014.

One of the highlights on the new release is the duet of vocalist Chitral Chity Somapala with Amanda Somerville (Avantasia/Trillium) on the song "Worlds Will Collide."

The track list is as follows:

1. Oceans Apart
2. My Lonely Heaven
3. Believing A Lie
4. Digging In The Dirt
5. Worlds Will Collide (duet with Amanda Somerville)
6. Spear Of Fate
7. Serpents Smile
8. Silent Roaring
9. Haze Of Nemesis
10. My Serenade
11. Soldier Of Fortune (Bonus Track) More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss


ProgPower USA XII: Day Two

If you attend Progpower, make sure you opt for the VIP gold badge over the regular. This will get you in to the “Insider Sale” where you will be able to purchase CDs of all of the bands that will be playing at next year’s festival. Gold badge attendees this year were treated to this sale in the vendor room long before the doors opened to regular attendees. Among the CDs on sale were some albums that previously had not received a US distribution, such as Amaranthe's debut.

When the doors finally opened, everyone was eager to get in and out of the bright Atlanta sun for another twelve hours. Being such an exclusive event, you could instantly strike up a conversation with any stranger you meet and be on the same page. With social barriers down, everyone was talking with everyone, discussing albums, bands, and previous ProgPower festivals.

UK-based progressive-symphonic band Haken was first up for the day, though the place was only half full about ten minutes before the band’s set. Clearly, the after-parties of the night before had been great. The venue eventually filled up in time for Haken’s second song. It was to be an exciting set, although a bit short. Seeing guitarists Richard Henshall and Charles Griffiths, as well as keyboardist Diego Tejeida rip some masterful solos did the trick on kicking hangovers from the night before. More...

Read more...  |  1 Comment - Discuss