"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: Finland
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Gronholm News

Below is our complete Gronholm news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Grönholm To Release New Album

Finnish hard rock act Grönholm - named for guitarist Mika Grönholm - will release the new album "Relativity Code For Love." The album is set to drop via Power Prog Records on September 18th.

"Relativity Code For Love" is an appreciation, study and musical journey about love, all told in the language of melodic rock. Among the band's ranks is British vocalist Lee Small, known to rock fans worldwide as the voice of Shy, Tom Galley's Phenomena and Skyscraper. The result is a concise and entertaining piece of hard rock/melodic rock/AOR with progressive influences and catchy melodies which will grab the audience. The mixing and mastering was done by Janne Tolsa (Nightwish, Tarot, Eternal Tears Of Sorrow).

The track listing for the album is:

1. Reasons
2. Home In Our Hearts
3. Like An Angel
4. Mystery
5. Strangers
6. Once
7. Serenity
8. Gravity More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Grönholm Readies New Album, "Silent Out Loud"

September 16, 2011 sees Grönholm release their sophomore album, "Silent Out Loud" on Lion Music. The album contains ten tracks, which are as follows:

1. Cross Of Mind
2. Distorted Eyes
3. Under My Star
4. Vanity
5. Out From The Nest
6. Race Is On
7. Giant Step
8. Set The Stones
9. Dawn Of A Dream
10. Away

The new album sees Mika take a heavier approach to his song writing utilizing a down tuned B tuning for all stringed instruments. On the change Mika comments, “All the songs on “Silent Out Loud” are tuned down to low B. Sometimes B-tuning is used for roaring vocals or lighting fast guitar parts, but no, not this time. With this tuning I was seeking more power and energy to my riffs.”

Writing for the release began in May 2010 and was completed 4 months later. Mika’s approach was to “Simply sit down and record riffs and ideas to an mp3 player and those riffs that maintain attention on repeated plays get worked on into bodies of songs.” Once the tracks had taken shape the recordings took place in January 2011. In contrast to the debut Tom Rask’s drums were recorded first this time round and Mika then built the final tracks around the drum work. Markku Kuikka recorded his vocals in his home studio in a short three day stint. March 2011 saw the arrival of the guest vocal tracks from Billy Sherwood (chorus parts on "Cross" and "Out From The Nest") and Marco Hietala (lead vocals on "Vanity"). The band then had to wait until April 2011 for Janne Tolsa to become available to mix and master and the results show the wait was justified. Mika then mixed the last three songs at his home studio “because they were easy and quick to do.”

In addition a promotional video for the opening track "Cross Of Mind" has been shot and made available online in the run up to the “Silent Out Loud” release on September 16, 2011.

0 Comments - Discuss