"some music was meant to stay underground..."


From: Sweden
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Altar News

Below is our complete Altar news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Altar Premiere New Official Music Video & Single

Netherland's death metal band Altar premiere a new official music video and single titled "Unfinished Business". The video was directed and produced by Sebastiaan Spijker of Metal Media - Music Video Production.

Check out now "Unfinished Business" below.

0 Comments - Discuss

Altar/Cartilage Split Seeing Re-Issue

It was in 1992 when two promising bands from the Swedish & Finnish death metal scenes released a split album that now, 23 years later, it's one of the most cult splits ever released in the early 90's.

Unfortunately, Cartilage never recorded anything after that and although Altar did a few demos later on, the group disbanded shortly after.

But the legacy still lives and this split album (originally released through former Xtreem Music label Drowned Productions) now gets a re-issue in form of a double CD with 7 bonus tracks by each band taken from early demos - that's a total of 14 songs from each group.

All songs have been remastered (not remixed!) for an optimal sound, preserving the essence from the originals, and the split also comes with new cover artwork, a remake of the original one made by cult Finnish artist Turkka G. Rantanen.

The 2-CD version is set for an August 20th release and in the meantime, you can listen to one track by each band below. More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Altar To Release Compilation Album

Long-defunct Swedish death metal legion Altar is set to unleash the most complete collection of recorded material from the band's six-year existence (1989 – 1995). Entitled "Dark Domains," the compilation features 17 tracks, remastered by legendary multi-instrumentalist Dan Swanö at Unisound Studio, Sweden, as well as exclusive cover art and layout by Kontamination Design in Poland, and rare, never-before-seen photos hand-picked by the band.

The "Dark Domains" compilation is dedicated in loving memory to the late Mieszko Talarczyk (Nasum /ex-ALTAR) and features the following track listing:

1. Nothing Human (1992 CD)
2. Lifeless Passion (1992 CD)
3. Daymare/A Message From The Grave (1992 CD)
4. Decapitated (1992 CD)
5. Ex Oblivione (1992 CD)
6. Sleeping Prophet (1993 Demo)
7. Floodgates Of Emotions (1993 Demo)
8. Darklight (1993 Demo)
9. Violent Acts (1994 Demo)
10. Days Forever Grey (1994 Demo)
11. Severed On The Attic (1991 Demo)
12. Decapitated (1991 Demo)
13. Hallucinations (1991 Demo)
14. No Flesh… (1991 Demo)
15. Instrumental (1995 Demo)
16. Severed On The Attic (1992 CD)
17. No Flesh… (1992 CD) More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Xtreem Music Posts New Sampler For Free Download

To commemorate their 100th release on their 10th anniversary, XTREEM MUSIC is giving away a free "double CD" label sampler for download. The fourth label sampler, this free download showcases 24 bands from past, present and upcoming releases on the XTREEM CULT SERIES, spanning almost two hours. Cover artwork is courtesy of Finnish cult artist Turkka Rantanen (Demigod, Demilich, Paganizer, Adramelech, Depravity, Ribspreader...)

Here's the tracklisting:

CD 1:
1. Demigod - As I Behold I Despise
2. Rottrevore - Conspiracised
3. Funebre - Shiver
4. Revenant - The Burning Ground
5. Sacrilege - Insurrection
6. Dissect - Gals of the Eternal Solstice
7. Adramelech - Heroes in Godly Blaze
8. Morpheus Descends - The Way of All Flesh
9. Lethal Aggression - Outcast/Proud Johnny/I'll Fight
10. Unbounded Terror - Dreamlord
11. Cartilage - Why Do I Watch the Dawn?
12. Apparition - Curse of the Sunrise

CD 2:
1. Demilich - The Echo (Replacement)
2. Supuration - Hypertrophy - Sordid and Outrageous Emanation
3. Multiplex - Raise the Ecstatic
4. Purtenance - A Dark Cloud Arises
5. Necrophiliac - Gorefruit Trasure
6. Killing Addiction - Omega Factor
7. Abhorer - Abandonment of Chastity
8. Disgrace - Unity's Interlude Dyes Blind Tomorrow
9. Apostasy - Fraud in the Name of God
10. Phlegethon - Ornaments
11. Altar - Nothing Human
12. Absorbed - Off-World Endeavour

Stop by the Xtreem Music compilation page to get all four of the label's samplers for free download.

0 Comments - Discuss