"some music was meant to stay underground..."


Formed: 2010
From: LA, United States
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Excommunicated News

Below is our complete Excommunicated news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Excommunicated Premiere "Intoxicated"

Louisiana band Excommunicated premiere their take on Obituary’s “Intoxicated”, taken from their upcoming new album "Death Devout", which consists mainly of cover songs and will be released on April 20 by Satanath Records (Russia) and Metallic Media (USA).

Check out now "Intoxicated" below.

Track list: More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss


Excommunicated Premieres Cannibal Corpse Cover

Today Metalunderground.com has the exclusive premiere of Louisiana death metal band Excommunicated's Cannibal Corpse cover of "Edible Autopsy." The song is off of the band's upcoming covers album, "Death Devout," which is due out on April 20, 2018 via Satanath Records (Russia) and Metallic Media (USA). You can pre-order the album as well as download/preview another song, "Day Of Suffering" (a Morbid Angel cover), on bandcamp.com.

Nearly seven years after their debut album, "Skeleton Key," Louisiana's Excommunicated return with a massive collection of classics from the golden age of death metal. Featuring Mike Heller (from bands Fear Factory, Raven, System Divide, Malignancy) on drums, with a guest appearance by James Murphy (Obituary, Death), Excommunicated is the brainchild of death metal veterans Jason McIntyre (Suture, Voracious Scourge) on guitar, Jonathan Joubert (ex-Despondency, Psychometry) on guitar/bass, and Chad Kelly (ex-Catholicon, Satanist) on vocals. Rounding out the current lineup is Bruno Muenzler (Suture, Slime In the Current) on bass guitar. It will be an all "covers" album (similar to the Six Feet Under "Graveyard Classics" series), featuring songs from the early Death Metal era.

The entire "Death Devout" track list is as follows:

1. Excommunicate And Anathema (Intro)
2. Body Count (Morgoth cover)
3. And Here I Die... Satisfied (Grave cover)
4. Edible Autopsy (Cannibal Corpse cover)
5. Nightmare Lake (Cemetary cover)
6. For God Your Soul, For Me Your Flesh (Pungent Stench cover)
7. Inside The Torn Apart (Napalm Death cover)
8. Intoxicated (Obituary cover)
9. Lunatic Of God's Creation (Deicide cover)
10. World Eater (Bolt Thrower cover)
11. The Invocation
12. Day Of Suffering (Morbid Angel cover)
13. Blessed Are The Sick / Leading The Rats (Morbid Angel cover)
14. Bone Fragments (Outro)

0 Comments - Discuss

Jonathan Joubert To Guest On Excommunicated Album

Chad Kelly, producer and CEO of Underworld Records, recently tapped Jonathan Joubert to write and perform on Excommunicated's debut album, "Skeleton Key," which will feature members of Borknagar, Catholicon, Suture, and guest appearances form Andy La Roque (King Diamond) and Vincent Crowley (Acheron). Excommunicated commented on the album:

"Skeleton Key is a death/black metal album which tackles the corruption of the medieval Catholic church. The music is thought provoking and dark, which pulls this listener into moments of contemplative destruction. Lyrically, Skeleton Key is not your run of the mill black metal record. These guys are scholars on the subject and are meant to be taken seriously."

Jonathan Joubert also added, "I have always been a fan of black metal, though many times I find the lyrics tend to be written just to frighten parents and shock people. Excommunicated does more than shock people. It strikes at the heart of entire movement and culture that denies its history and hides its dark side. Skeleton Key is an album that sheds light on what the masses tend to overlook. I am proud to be a part of it."

For more information on Excommunicated head over to the band's Facebook profile.

0 Comments - Discuss