"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Slipknot logo

Slipknot Photo

Band Photo: Slipknot (?)

Formed: 1995
From: Des Moines, IA, United States
Last Known Status: Active


Formed in Des Moines, Iowa, in 1995, Slipknot was a nine-member alternative metal band whose members adopted numerals as performing aliases; the stabilized lineup, in order from 0 to 8, included DJ Sid Wilson, drummer Joey Jordison, bassist Paul Grey, percussionist Chris Fehn, guitarist James Root, sampler/programmer Craig Jones, percussionist Shawn Crahan, guitarist Mic Thompson, and vocalist Corey Taylor.

In 1996, the group self-released an album titled Mate. Feed. Kill. Repeat. and attracted the attention of several labels, including Roadrunner, which signed the band the following year. Slipknot's eponymous official debut was released in 1999.

Slipknot has been a wide attraction on Ozzfest. Many people want to see what makes this band tick. With nine members, halloween masks, and metal they certainly are an attraction.

Slipknot Interviews and Features

Below are our features and interviews with Slipknot.


Ex-Slipknot Vocalist Discusses Painface Reunion

Painface disbanded shortly after releasing the band's debut album, “Fleshcraft.” Despite having a ton of buzz for being led by the former frontman of Slipknot, Painface left the scene almost as soon as it joined. After a decade of inactivity, the band is currently in the studio recording a long awaited follow up album.

Metalunderground.com recently had the opportunity to interview singer Anders Colsefni about the new album's progress and the band's future plans. More...

Read more...  |  11 Comments - Discuss