"some music was meant to stay underground..."


Hollow Photo

Band Photo: Hollow (?)

Formed: 2004
From: Montreal, QC, Canada
Last Known Status: Active


Anonymous face-painted extreme metal group combining several styles, including black, death, thrash, symphonic, power, and groove

Latest Hollow News

Below is our complete Hollow news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.


Hollow Debuts New Single "Iscariot"

Clad in black and painted in ghostly, skeletal white and gray, Montreal's Hollow is one of North America's most deceptively original and subversive underground metal acts today. Exploiting the surface aesthetics of black metal, the band surprises with an abundance of musical diversity and depth.

Years in the making, Hollow's analog-recorded debut studio effort "Mordrake" is finally ready to be unleashed May 30th. The album will contain twelve tracks, each of which combines black, death, thrash, symphonic, and progressive metal in a dizzying, memorable web.

To whet your appetite, Metalunderground.com is proud to exclusively premiere second single "Iscariot." Leaning toward Hollow's thrash and traditional metal influences, this is one of the more "riff-centric" offerings on "Mordrake."

"Iscariot" follows the March 1st release of "Landscape," Hollow's first official music video.

3 Comments - Discuss


Metalunderground.com Official Podcast, Episode 6

This week on Metalunderground.com's Official Podcast, dedicated co-hosts Kevin Perez (n0thinghead) and Mike Smith (OverkillExposure) start by tackling two debut releases from two fascinating Canadian bands.

First up is Ottawa, Ontario's The Kindred, formerly known as Today I Caught The Plague. Kevin explores his mixed feelings about this act's eclectic take on progressive metal, first by recounting a bracing live experience, then by dissecting the new release "Life In Lucidity."

Then Mike shares his thoughts and feelings on Montreal, Quebec's Hollow, a band he describes as an all-around "celebration of extreme metal" that subverts certain trends and defies others. The group's debut album "Mordrake" is due out this May, 2014.

Finally, your hosts wrap things up with an impassioned and informative overview of "As The Palaces Burn," the new documentary film chronicling the adventures of Virginia powerhouse Lamb Of God - including frontman Randy Blythe's dramatic 2012 legal showdown.

Take a listen here, enjoy, and offer us your feedback.

1 Comment - Discuss

Hollow Debuts Music Video

Symphonic black/thrash/death act Hollow has unveiled a music video for the song "Landscape," which will appear on the band's upcoming debut album "Mordrake."

Formed in 2007 in Montreal, Quebec, Hollow has spent much time perfecting a theatrical stage performance of the highest order, released the EP "Cynoptic Eschaton" in 2010, and performed at Heavy MTL in 2012.

The twelve-track "Mordrake" is due out this coming May, 2014, though a specific date has yet to be announced. In February, the band released another song from the effort, "Hate."

2 Comments - Discuss

Hollow Streaming New Track

Canadian outfit Hollow has posted a new song online titled "Hate," which was mixed and recorded at Uplift Studios by Kevin Jardine. Give the song a listen in the player below.

0 Comments - Discuss

Bands Advance to Wacken Battle Semifinalist Round

Wacken Metal Battle Canada is proud to announce that Hollow (Montreal qualifying) and Crimson Shadows (Toronto semi-final) have advanced from their battling rounds.

Hollow will perform at next week's Montreal semi-final on June 7th at Katacombes with Dissension, Trainwreck Architect, Fallstaf, & Crosstitution, where two bands will move on to join Crimson Shadows at the national final in Toronto on June 22nd at the Opera House.

The final will see two Toronto semi-finalists and two Montreal semi-finalists along with a wild card band compete for one to rule them all at Wacken 2013 this summer.

The next semi-final in Toronto will be on June 7th at the Rivoli along with the Montreal semi-final on June 7th at Katacombes . All bands will be judged by a panel of local music industry representatives.

Check out the battle chart over at Scene Magazine.

In additional news, Toronto's skrap metal innovators Final Trigger have been announced as the special guest band to perform at this year's Wacken Metal Battle Canada final. The band recently returned from their USA tour with Mushroomhead and will be releasing their new album "Skrap Metal Vol. II" on Boonsdale Records on July 9th. Their first single/music video 'Face It' can be viewed at YouTube.

0 Comments - Discuss

Canuck Metal Vol. 2 Compilation Available For Free

This Canada Day, in honour of the country and its vast amount of metal acts, the Heavy Metal Music Association of Canada (H.M.M.A.C.) and LoudTrax.com announced the release of Canuck Metal Vol. 2, a free download compilation, part of a series to showcase Canada’s up and coming head banging talent.

The compilation can be downloaded at this location. Please use the promo code: HMMAC

The track listing is as follows:

1. Arapacis - End of The Line (5:50)
2. Crisis Kings - Glutton (3:24)
3. Forbidden Sin - Man Down(4:12)
4. Hollow - Sunriser (4:41)
5. Hymnosis - How Dare You (5:16)
6. Makaria - Spire (3:57)
7. Nephelium - Merciless Annihilation (6:18)
8. Project Mars - Don't Hold Back (4:30)
9. Sanktuary - Raise the Flag (4:25)
10. The New Jacobin Club - My Smile (2:37)
11. The Void - If We Can't Beat 'Em (Detour 'Em!) (1:23)
12. Trainwreck Architect - Dream Pariah (3:34)
13. Tribune - The Succubus (3:15)
14. Wolven Ancestry - The Animistic Awakening (5:59) More...

Read more...  |  8 Comments - Discuss