"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Ring of Fire

Formed: 2000
From: Chula Vista, CA, United States
Last Known Status: Active

Latest Ring of Fire News

Below is our complete Ring of Fire news coverage, including columns and articles pertaining to the band. Some articles listed may be indirectly related, such as side projects of the band members, etc.

Ring Of Fire Announces New Album

U.S. neoclassical power metal act, featuring guitarist Tony MacAlpine and vocalist Mark Boals, posted a sample clip from the upcoming third studio release "Battle of Lenningrad." The album is set for release on January 24th (EU) and January 28th (North America) via Frontiers Records. The album is the first since the 2004 release "Lapse Of Reality." A preview clip for the new release can be viewed below.

Combining melodic metal songs with fantasy-based lyrics, topped off with virtuoso performances from the line-up, the resulting Ring Of Fire albums proved to be exactly what many neoclassical-metal fans had waited for, creating a solid fan base for the band all over the world.

"Battle of Leningrad" comes after a 9 years hiatus -- a period which has seen the band members getting involved in other projects, most notably with singer Mark Boals becoming singer for Royal Hunt (until 2011) and Kuprij and MacAlpine touring with Trans Siberian Orchestra and Steve Vai respectively. Ring of Fire reconvened with Boals, MacAlpine and Kurprij during 2012, when they agreed to work on their unfinished business and develop a new album from the true story of the siege of Leningrad during the WWII.

Mark Boals explains: "It is a true story of the strength and resilience of the Russian people throughout history and particularly in this instance of 900 days of being surrounded on all sides with no food and no hope of rescue, under siege of the Nazi army. The magnificent city of Leningrad with millions of people trapped, found a way to withstand the daily attacks of rockets and bombs, the lack of food, water, and fuel for heat. Although more than 1 million starved to death, most survived, and the Nazis were never able to overtake the city completely. They were finally forced to retreat by the Russian army. Not widely known by most, this was an amazing story and one of World War II's finest examples of heroism in the worst circumstances imaginable." More...

Read more...  |  0 Comments - Discuss

Tony MacAlpine To Release New Solo Album

Guitar and piano virtuoso Tony MacAlpine, known for his work in the progressive metal act Planet X and power metal act Ring of Fire, has revealed the details behind his forthcoming new solo album. The new album, his first solo release in over ten years, is set to be released June 21 through Favored Nations Records. You can view the track list for the self-titled album below.

The album is also set to feature a guest appearance from Necrophagist drummer Marco Minnemann.

1. Serpens Cauda
2. Ölüdeniz
3. Fire Mountain
4. Dream Mechanism
5. Ten Seconds to Mercury
6. Flowers For Monday
7. Angel of Twilight
8. Pyrokinesis
9. Blue Maserati
10. Summer Palace
11. Salar de Uyuni
12. The Dedication

4 Comments - Discuss